Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

VMware specific discussions

Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:31 am

People,

I'm about to install Veema Backup 8.0 Update 3, so I wonder if I can centralize or manage multiple different Physical server backup using Veeam Endpoint Backup ?

Do I need to be at certain level of Endpoint backup ? or do I have to make the existing Backup Repository server as the backup destination for the VEB physical server backup ?

Thanks,
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:00 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Yes, you need to make the existing backup repo server as he backup destination for VEB job. Please see the article to get more info about VEB-VBR integration.

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:01 pm 1 person likes this post

albertwt wrote:I wonder if I can centralize or manage multiple different Physical server backup using Veeam Endpoint Backup ?

Albert, this feature currently is only available via integration with LabTech platform.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:15 pm

Hi Vitaliy and PTide,

I do not plan to centralize the VEB to the existing server because I just wanted to monitor the progress and the backup status from single console, so is that possible or do I have to wait until VBR 9 next release ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:43 pm

That should be possible if you follow the link from Pavel's post.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Sat Nov 14, 2015 2:14 am

Thanks Vitaliy and Pavel,

But the article said that I must make the existing server as the backup repository for the VEB that's not possible in my case since I have multiple different geographical site.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Managing multiple Veeam Endpoint from VBR console ?

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Sat Nov 14, 2015 11:26 am 1 person likes this post

You can deploy multiple remote backup repositories to have a local target for each location where a backup with VEB is needed. All the different repositories can be managed by the same central VBR server, as long as there's a vpn to connect all the repositories and the VBR itself.
Than, you can also create backup copy jobs to replicate backups from each remote location to the central VBR repository.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests