Manually copying backups to another location

VMware specific discussions

Manually copying backups to another location

Veeam Logoby kpinkpin » Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:05 pm

Im assuming its ok to just manually copy and paste backups to an external drive to take offsite correct? I just wanted to know if I actually need to copy any files other than the .vbm .vbk and .vib files? In the Root of my Backups I have .sf files and lock files. What are these for and should I copy this over?

Thanks in advance.
kpinkpin
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Manually copying backups to another location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:22 pm

Hello kpinkpin,
If you want Veeam Server to aware of the backup copies, you need to rescan the repository to make server know the files are there.
By the way, why not to use backup copy job for that purpose?
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4842
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Manually copying backups to another location

Veeam Logoby kpinkpin » Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:27 pm

I'm going to set up a more automated way of handling it but I just want to make an initial backup of everything really quick.
So just copy the .vib .vbm .vbk files over then scan the repository and they should be good for recovery correct?
kpinkpin
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 2:54 pm

Re: Manually copying backups to another location

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Jul 07, 2016 3:41 pm

They will be good. But backup copy job is more automated way + it works much faster if you leverage WAN Acceleration.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4842
Liked: 393 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Manually copying backups to another location

Veeam Logoby Thernlund » Fri Jul 08, 2016 8:34 pm 1 person likes this post

kpinkpin wrote:Im assuming its ok to just manually copy and paste backups to an external drive to take offsite correct? I just wanted to know if I actually need to copy any files other than the .vbm .vbk and .vib files? In the Root of my Backups I have .sf files and lock files. What are these for and should I copy this over?


I've personally done this for a subpoena the required me to preserve the state of the system from a certain date. I just copied the .vbk and .vib files from the dates I needed and set those aside. Months later I was able read and restore from them with no problem. :)
Thernlund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:02 am
Full Name: Terry Hernlund


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 19 guests