Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ec-inflxx
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Map Disk Region??

Post by ec-inflxx » Dec 22, 2010 6:41 pm

I just switched from Veeam running as a VM to Veeam in a phsyical environment directly attached to the SAN. In my first run of backups I few of the VMs have been completed fine. But with one when I look at the vCenter client I see a ton of "Map disk region" events. Can anyone tell me what it is doing and if it will affect production? None of the other VMs have shown this and this never happened when I ran the Veeam server as a VM.

I am also seeing "Release disk lease" which I have never seen before but it seems to happen for each one and hasn't had any negative affects.

Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25521
Liked: 3872 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by Gostev » Dec 22, 2010 7:04 pm

This is normal, see here for the explanation:
http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1007331

vStorage API is no different from VCB as to how it reads data.

ec-inflxx
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by ec-inflxx » Dec 22, 2010 7:20 pm

Great thanks!!

ec-inflxx
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by ec-inflxx » Dec 28, 2010 4:25 pm

Wondering if I can come back to this topic for a minute. I am starting to backup our QA machines. Generally these are all home supported OSes (7, Vista, XP) and they use snapshots on these because they are reverting to different builds of our software, etc. I am starting to do the first one and I am getting TONS of Map disk region. It seems like it is almost constant. I am assuming it is because these VMs have snapshots and are probably framented (as per KB above). Wondering if the backup will ever kick off and if there are alternatives to backing up this VM?

Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25521
Liked: 3872 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by Gostev » Dec 28, 2010 4:54 pm

Snapshot presense should not really affect backup. Yes you will get these messages in vCenter, but this is not a problem. I backup VMs with snapshots all the time without any issues. Also, from the topic about infamous CBT bug 1 year ago I learnt that (surprisingly) a lot of customers are using VM snapshots heavily in various scenarios, not just in dev but also production environments, so it is not uncommon scenario at all for Veeam Backup to protect such VMs. Thanks!

ec-inflxx
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 22, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by ec-inflxx » Dec 28, 2010 4:57 pm

Ok, well I started the backup at 11:05 and it is still doing the Map disk region thing. So almost an hour and the backup hasn't even started and I have 40 of these type machines. I just opened up a support request because this doesnt seem right.

Thanks!

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by larry » May 18, 2011 2:00 pm

I just ran into one of these, the VM has no snap shots, but the disk is thin and has expanded many times. Each backup was taking an extra 15 minutes just to "map region". The fix is to vmotion to a new datastore. This cut the backup time by 15 minutes ( no more map region ). This is a VMware issue not veeam but it affects Veeam.

Just for everyones info.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23410
Liked: 1665 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by Vitaliy S. » May 18, 2011 2:07 pm

Larry, thanks for sharing!

gvinpin
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by gvinpin » May 18, 2011 9:48 pm

Also, if you are using dynamic disks and span it across different vmdk's - it will generate a lot of "map region", but backup will be OK anyway.

kte
Expert
Posts: 172
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 7:48 pm
Full Name: Koen Teugels
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by kte » Oct 01, 2013 3:22 pm

Is there a way to stop these messages, because I have a big file server (15TB ) and in the events I only see Map Disk Region events more the 1000 lines

K

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23410
Liked: 1665 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 01, 2013 3:27 pm

Koen, have you tried applying the workaround mentioned by Larry in the post above?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17267
Liked: 1513 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by veremin » Oct 01, 2013 3:30 pm

I’m wondering whether you have (old) snapshots on this VM or not. Thanks.

kte
Expert
Posts: 172
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 7:48 pm
Full Name: Koen Teugels
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by kte » Oct 01, 2013 7:30 pm

no snapshots , i did a consolidation

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by foggy » Oct 02, 2013 6:44 am

Have you tried to vMotion the VM to a new datastore? It helped one of the previous posters here.

kte
Expert
Posts: 172
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jul 02, 2013 7:48 pm
Full Name: Koen Teugels
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by kte » Oct 02, 2013 6:36 pm

it is 15 tb server i don't have that much free space anymore

k

maverick964_uk
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 09, 2013 8:57 am
Full Name: Mike Lavery
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam 6.5 - Physical proxy - Map Disk Region messag

Post by maverick964_uk » Feb 03, 2014 12:32 pm

We have veeam 6.5 patch3 installed. All has been working fine via virtual proxies.

We are now testing backups with physical proxy servers and we get a ton of "Map Disk Region" messages in Vcenter for those VM's that have user snapshots.

How do we get around this problem without having to remove user snapshots. Obviously its not a problem when using virtual proxies!! :roll:

thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by foggy » Feb 03, 2014 12:57 pm

Mike, please review the thread above for some hints that helped others in similar situations. Thanks.

maverick964_uk
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 09, 2013 8:57 am
Full Name: Mike Lavery
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by maverick964_uk » Feb 03, 2014 2:41 pm

do these messages go eventually? Why should this be a problem with physical proxies and not virtual proxies?
It would be good to suppress these messages or understand a fix .....

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by foggy » Feb 03, 2014 3:05 pm


tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5537
Liked: 2356 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by tsightler » Feb 03, 2014 4:39 pm 2 people like this post

Physical proxies access the disk directly, so they need to request leases for each region they are backing up. When backup up via other modes the I/O is going through the ESXi I/O stack which already "owns" the underlying disk. There are not errors and are just a normal part of backing up via direct SAN mode, especially with thin disk that have grown a lot over time. Performing a storage vMotion should help since it will effectively consolidate all of the chunks that have been added over time.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5841
Liked: 1679 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by dellock6 » Feb 04, 2014 5:17 pm

And I can't find it right now, but if I remeber correctly there is also a way to suppress those messages to appear, and most of all to fill vCenter database...

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

maverick964_uk
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 09, 2013 8:57 am
Full Name: Mike Lavery
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by maverick964_uk » Feb 06, 2014 1:19 pm

hi, I need to run a test and see if the backup of a VM (with user snapshots) does eventually work. I'm concerned about the number of messages that it generates...

we cant vmotion to another datastore as the VM's need to reside in certain datastores.

Also it is possible for user snapshots to be there so I dont want to potentially break vcenter if an overnight backup causes 1000's of "map disk region" messages to appear....

If anyone knows how to suppress these messages, please let me know.

thanks and appreciate your replies.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5841
Liked: 1679 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by dellock6 » Feb 10, 2014 12:24 pm

my bad, I checked again and I was wrong, there is no way to suppress those errors.
The only permanent solution is to run a storage vmotion of the thin provisioned disk in order to remove its fragmentation, that is the cause of those kind of errors.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

maverick964_uk
Expert
Posts: 102
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 09, 2013 8:57 am
Full Name: Mike Lavery
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by maverick964_uk » Feb 10, 2014 7:46 pm

many thanks!

jimboblair
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 30, 2012 7:53 pm
Full Name: Jim Blair
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by jimboblair » May 19, 2014 5:51 pm

I am also plagued by this. Did you get a resolve? Stuck with snapshot on the VM and cannot do storage vmotion it while powered on with a snapshot present. It has been almost an hour of Map Disk Region tasks. :?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by foggy » May 20, 2014 5:44 am

Jim, have you tried all the suggestions given in this thread already?

jimboblair
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 30, 2012 7:53 pm
Full Name: Jim Blair
Contact:

Re: Map Disk Region??

Post by jimboblair » May 20, 2014 2:27 pm

Working on migrating the VMs to alternate storage volumes today to see if it cleans them up.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests