Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
itpau
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2018 9:48 am
Contact:

migration VBR

Post by itpau » Jan 07, 2019 2:42 pm

Hello,

I've two sites : Main and DR
Today, VBR is virtualized on my main site but I want to move it on my DR site.

What is better way ?

I've think about two ways :
1- Migrate VM on DR site
2- Create a new VM on DR site, reinstall VBR and import backup configuration

Considering that my current VM who host VBR isn't in domain and I would add it into domain.

What would you do ?

Regards,

ITPAU

ejenner
Expert
Posts: 290
Liked: 38 times
Joined: Mar 23, 2018 4:43 pm
Full Name: EJ
Location: London
Contact:

Re: migration VBR

Post by ejenner » Jan 07, 2019 2:53 pm

2

Always better to build a new OS when practical to do so.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9769
Liked: 771 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: migration VBR

Post by Dima P. » Jan 07, 2019 2:55 pm

Hi itpau,

I agree with EJ. I'd create a brand new machine unless there is a specific requirement to migrate it. Cheers!

itpau
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2018 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: migration VBR

Post by itpau » Jan 07, 2019 3:09 pm 1 person likes this post

Great !

I was also thinking about doing that, but I wanted to be sure before to do anything.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests