Think before you click
Not a big thing in our case, we "just" lost some backups.
If you could change the message from "Original VM still exists, and will be deleted. Proceed?" to something like "Original VM still exists. Machine and all disks will be deleted. Proceed?" already might help in some cases.
I don't blame the application, totally my fault.