Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
BLWL
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2015 7:24 am
Full Name: Bjorn L
Contact:

Move Veeam to a new environment - poke a hole in my plan!

Post by BLWL » Mar 01, 2019 11:16 am

Hi all,

We are soon replacing our HP Blade/NetApp environment for Nutanix running VMware. To prepare, I want to do some major refresh/upgrade of the backup infrastructure.
  • Upgrade VBR 9.5 U3 to Update 4
  • Upgrade mgmt, proxies, and repos OS from 2012 -> 2016
  • Move mgmt, proxies and repos to New VLAN/IP address
  • Join mgmt, proxies and repos to a new AD Domain
  • Upgrade vCenter 6.5 -> 6.7 U1
  • Fully Patch ESXi 6.0 (an upgrade is not planned at this stage due to limited time/resources)
Given the that we want to upgrade the OS, a rebuild is planned. My focus is the managment server. Proxies and repos are easy to fix and lower priority.

The Plan
Please comment if you see any issues, flaws or sub-optimal stuff. Firewall rules are already in place
  • Disable storage integration to NetApp storage Snapshots on all jobs (storage integration is great, but not supported on Nutanix)
  • Install Windows Update on old VBR mgmt (due to upgrades in TLS/sha2, our old NetApp ONTAP7-mode does not work with this. But Update 4 requires this. (KB2164)
  • Install a new VBR mgmt server with Windows Server 2016, correct VLAN, new domain, new hostname (or same if required)
  • Install VBR 9.5
  • Install Update 4 + possible patches (KB1889)
  • Disable jobs, backup config and stopping Veeam services (KB1889)
  • Restore backup on the new VBR mgmt server (KB1889)
  • Import encryption keys for backup jobs (all jobs are encrypted)
  • Test jobs against proxies and repos still in their old place
  • If test = OK, continue to migrate proxies and repos
  • Enable all jobs and verify
  • Upgrade vCenter and patch ESXi 6.0 hosts
Even though the new server differs a lot from the old, I cannot find any issues with this in the article.

Am I missing something?

Thanks! :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18287
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam to a new environment - poke a hole in my plan!

Post by foggy » Mar 01, 2019 11:31 am 1 person likes this post

Hi Bjorn, your plan looks good. A couple of comments though:
Install VBR 9.5
This step is not required as a separate one, since Update 4 ISO contains full Veeam B&R.
Test jobs against proxies and repos still in their old place
Prior to that you would need to make sure that proxies, repositories and other Veeam B&R components get upgraded to U4 level (this can be done right from the Veeam B&R console).

BLWL
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2015 7:24 am
Full Name: Bjorn L
Contact:

Re: Move Veeam to a new environment - poke a hole in my plan!

Post by BLWL » Mar 01, 2019 1:06 pm

Hi Foggy!

Excellent! Then I will continue with the plan with adjustments from your input! :)

I appreciate you took the time looking through the plan and your swift input!

BR
Bjorn

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests