Moving Backup to new VM

VMware specific discussions

Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby gooey » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:00 pm

I have kinda of an odd question.

I have a VM that is rather large, 2 tb's. It consists of a OS disk and data disk.

The OS needs to be upgraded and we can't do an in place upgrade.

I'm planning on just moving the data disk to the new OS, but I don't see the need to do a new full backup.

Is there anyway to combine or move the backup to a new VM, so I just backup the OS.

Thanks
gooey
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:04 pm

Will it be an entirely new VM with different VM ID in vCenter? In that case the VM will be read in its entirety, anyway.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:10 pm

I would try the next solution: add another disk to the VM with the newer OS, remove the disk with older OS and next job run should be an incremental.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:14 pm

If you're using reversed incremental backup mode, then even after attaching data disk to a new VM and triggering active full backup (due to new VM ID), new full will not take much space in the VBK due to deduplication engine within the backup file.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby gooey » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:15 pm

Shestakov wrote:I would try the next solution: add another disk to the VM with the newer OS, remove the disk with older OS and next job run should be an incremental.



I thought about that, but wasn't sure if there was another way.

The old VM has problems and I really don't want to move it to the new.

Thanks.
gooey
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Aug 26, 2016 5:22 pm

What backup method do you use, is it forward incremental?
Anyway, making an active full from time to time is a good practice.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby gooey » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:18 pm

That's what I decided. It may be painful at first but it seems the best route.

Thanks for input everyone.
gooey
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Moving Backup to new VM

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:56 am

You are welcome, gooey.
Once you have a question don`t hesitate asking.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests