Moving To New Repository

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 12, 2016 11:05 am

Please contact support to verify the reason of the failure.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16225
Liked: 1296 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby Reklov » Wed Oct 12, 2016 11:57 am 1 person likes this post

Case #01928087 was created.
Reklov
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 46
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:16 pm

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby Reklov » Wed Oct 19, 2016 1:28 pm

Support supplied me with this powershell script:
Code: Select all
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#[Veeam.Backup.Core.CCredentilasStroreInitializer]::InitLocal() to work with Lin repository

$backupName = Read-Host "Enter backup name for meta regeneration"

Add-Type -Path "C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Veeam.Backup.Core.dll"
[Veeam.Backup.Common.LogFactory]::InitializeConsoleLog()

Try
{
$backup = [Veeam.Backup.Core.CBackup]::GetAll() | Where { $_.Name.Equals($backupName) } | Select -index 0

    if ($backup -eq $null)
      {
        throw ("There is no backup with specified name : " + $backupName)
      }
$storageAccessor = [Veeam.Backup.Core.CStorageAccessorFactory]::Create($backup)

[Veeam.Backup.Core.CCredentilasStroreInitializer]::InitLocal()

$metaUpdater = New-Object Veeam.Backup.Core.CSimpleBackupMetaUpdater
$metaEx = new-object Veeam.Backup.Core.CBackupMetaEx -ArgumentList $backup, $storageAccessor, $metaUpdater
$metaEx.GenerateAndSave()

$metaFilePath = $backup.GetMetaFilePath($storageAccessor.FileCommander)
Write-Host "Successfully saved meta for backup $($backupName) on $($storageAccessor.Name) : $($metaFilePath)"
}
Catch
{
Write-Host $_.Exception.Message
Write-Host $_.Exception.StackTrace
Write-Host $_.Exception.InnerException.Message
Write-Host $_.Exception.InnerException.StackTrace
Break
}

$Reader = [System.IO.StreamReader] $metaFilePath
$MyString = $Reader.ReadToEnd();
$Reader.Dispose();


$removeString = 'LinkId="00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000"';
$index = $MyString.IndexOf($removeString);
$lengh = $removeString.Length;

$start = $MyString.Substring(0, $index);
$end  = $MyString.Substring($index + $lengh);

$clean = $start + $end;



$writer = [System.IO.StreamWriter] $metaFilePath
$writer.WriteLine($clean);
$writer.Close();

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I rename the vbm file
I import the relevant vbk file
I run the script
I was able to select an restorepoint from the imported vbk

Thanks.
Reklov
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 46
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:16 pm

[MERGED] 9.5 Move backups to a new SAN - Still same process?

Veeam Logoby kkroft » Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:05 pm

We are preparing to move our backups to a new SAN. Has the process changed with 9.5 or are we still following this from 2012? https://forums.veeam.com/vmware-vsphere-f24/moving-to-new-repository-t10420.html#p45248
kkroft
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:21 pm
Full Name: Kent

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:54 am 1 person likes this post

Nothing has changed since that time.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14704
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby sn0wcrash » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:17 am

Hello everybody,

i am planning to do the following. We have a rather old backup proxy server. The repository of the server is a FC LUN (NTFS drive), this LUN is the only repository and holds the backups. Now we want to install a new server as a backup proxy and map this lun to the new server. Are the following steps correct to do everything right ?

1.) do a "remove from configuration" on all backups on the lun
2.) remove the lun from the old proxy server
3.) mount the lun on the new proxy server
4.) create repository pointing to the new backup proxy and scan the repository
5.) change the existing backup jobs to the new repository

will that do the trick ? B&R version is 9.5.

Thanks
sn0wcrash
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:35 am
Full Name: Wolfgang Scholz

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:14 pm

Hi Wolfgang,

Your steps are looking good except the last one. For the step 5, I would recommend you to use backup mapping in addition to target repository change as it might be required too.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1008
Liked: 105 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby sn0wcrash » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:25 pm

Perfect Dmitry, thanks a bunch !
sn0wcrash
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:35 am
Full Name: Wolfgang Scholz

Move jobs to new server

Veeam Logoby Danne84 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:15 am

Hi,

I would like to move jobs from an VBR 8.0 server to an VBR 9.0 server. These servers have different repos.
What would be the best wat to do it?

I do not want to move the configuration and databas just one job.
Can i just copy the directory to the other repo and create a new job or do i have to do something else?
Because i want it to continute to use the current chain of backups (30 days retention)

Any suggestions on this?
Danne84
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:22 am

The process should not be different from one described here. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14704
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby Danne84 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:46 am

So create a new job and map the files?
If i do this the chain will break and the job starts all over again.
Danne84
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 56
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 2:05 pm

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:10 am

Unique identifier of VM will be the same, so, a backup job should create an incremental backup, assuming the procedure is followed correctly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14704
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:59 pm

Look like a db problem. Kindly, contact our support team directly. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14704
Liked: 1100 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Move entire repository volume to another repository

Veeam Logoby bjdboyer » Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:45 pm

We have a single repository server in our D/R location. The repository volumes are all fibre attached volumes from a storage array. The load has gotten to where we need a 2nd repository server and would like to "move" 1 or more of the volumes to the new repository server. I"ve been searching but haven't come up with any procedure for doing that. I would like to:

1. remove the repository volume from server#1.
2. Re-map the volume to server#2 from the storage array.
3. add the volume to Veeam from Server#2 and keep the backup data
4. Re-map the jobs....?

Do I need to remove everything on the volume from the configuration first before I do #1?

Would like to move the entire volume instead of creating a new one and moving the jobs individually.

TIA,
Bill Boyer
bjdboyer
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 30
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 5:52 pm
Full Name: Bill Boyer

Re: Move entire repository volume to another repository serv

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:08 pm

Hi Bill, please refer to this article for the procedure to migrate the repository. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 16225
Liked: 1296 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests