Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
damocue
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Full Name: David Molina
Location: Valencia, Spain
Contact:

[MERGED] Error after changing Veeam Linux NFS Repository

Post by damocue » Feb 13, 2013 12:15 pm

Hello,

I have a NAS with deduplication feature, on which I have 2 NFS shares. Actually I have the 2 shares connected to a Linux, who acts as backup repository in my infrastructure. As I have some connection problems on full backup executions, I'd like to have 2 Linux, each one acting as backup repository with one NFS share. And here is the problem. When I change target storage on Veeam jobs, at the end of edition I get this error:
Unable to get backup with id 'XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX'
If I change after the target storage to its original location, then there isn't any problem, but at next execution of job, the result is a full, and it doesn't care if I do the second change or not. Has anyone seen this behaviour before?
Before this, I've moved/copied backups on other scenarios without any problem continuing backup chains, so I don't understand what is happening here :?

Regards,

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17827
Liked: 1492 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by foggy » Feb 13, 2013 12:48 pm

David, just to be sure, have you performed the procedure required to move backup files to the new repository (described in this thread above)?

damocue
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Full Name: David Molina
Location: Valencia, Spain
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by damocue » Feb 13, 2013 3:19 pm

Mmm... nop, and maybe this should be the failure cause...

It seems an epic fail is coming... :D

fast_cat
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 06, 2012 11:56 am
Contact:

[MERGED] Re-pointing VB&R jobs to new location

Post by fast_cat » Mar 07, 2013 4:37 pm

Hi,

I am trying to set up a scenario that will enable me to continue backups to a secondary site in the event of my primary storage going AWOL.

Scenario.. VB&R backups to datadomain storage in primary site . The datadomain replicates in the background to its secondary site datadomain....all works well here.

The primary site datadomain then breaks and is out of action for considerable time. I want to repoint my backup jobs to the secondary storage (which is an identical copy of the primary apart from its sharename) and then continue my backup jobs and preserve the existing backup chain..ie incrementals etc...)

Any thoughts ?

regards

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5650
Liked: 1586 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by dellock6 » Mar 07, 2013 8:53 pm 1 person likes this post

You can do it easily. Simply register the new DD share as a new repository in Veeam, and map existing backup jobs to this new repository so they can go on from the existing backup files instead of starting from scratch.
If you have several jobs, you can think about automate the re-mapping via powershell scripting.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by v.eremin » Mar 11, 2013 10:39 am

If you have several jobs, you can think about automate the re-mapping via powershell scripting
Unfortunately, at the moment there is no way to change the repository on a job via Veeam Powershell Snap-in. So, necessary actions should be taken manually.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

GlacierWaterIT
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2012 6:34 pm
Full Name: Wesley Olins
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by GlacierWaterIT » Mar 29, 2013 5:08 pm

Thank you Vitaly!
You saved me a support case!

jregel
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 24, 2013 9:19 pm
Full Name: Julian Regel
Contact:

[MERGED] How to move a backup job destination?

Post by jregel » Oct 01, 2013 1:58 pm

I've got multiple backup jobs that use a CIFS file share repository (\\BACKUPSAN\VEEAM). Each job is written into a different folder.

The problem is that I'm running out of space on the share and want to move some of the backups to a different filesystem and share (\\BACKUPSAN\VEEAM2).

What's the supported way to do this?

Do I simply need to move the backup job's folder to the new share, add a new backup repository to point to the new share and then edit the job to use the new repository?

We're doing incremental forever backups (with weekly synthetic fulls), so want to move the jobs without having to break the existing backup chain.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17827
Liked: 1492 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by foggy » Oct 01, 2013 2:05 pm

Julian, please follow the instructions to move backups to another repository, given in this topic above. In case of any additional questions, feel free to ask here. Thanks.

VladV
Expert
Posts: 220
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Apr 30, 2013 7:38 am
Full Name: Vlad Valeriu Velciu
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by VladV » Oct 16, 2013 7:56 am

I am looking to attaching a new disk to our backup server and move my backups there for temporary maintenance. I would like to move the backups from VBR as easy as possible so I was thinking that after copying the files to just change the drive letter of the new drive to the old one to avoid removing the backup from the VBR, adding them back and mapping them.

Does this sound ok?

Thanks,
Vlad

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22445
Liked: 1443 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 16, 2013 8:05 am

Yes, I believe it should work, assuming that the folder structure on the new drive is the same.

GBonset
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 06, 2013 9:45 am
Contact:

[MERGED] how to change path existing repository

Post by GBonset » Dec 06, 2013 10:50 am

I want to change the share / backup path in a existing repository which i have made.
Sadly it is grayed out, so my question is obvious.

case number is 00487218

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17827
Liked: 1492 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by foggy » Dec 06, 2013 1:10 pm

Please review the instructions on how to move backups to another repository given in this thread above. Thanks.

buddyfarr
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 09, 2014 6:30 pm
Full Name: Buddy Farr
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by buddyfarr » May 14, 2014 3:50 pm

ok I have the new repository created. what is the best way to move the backup files? I have tried to just open 2 windows explorer windows and cut and paste but it always says that the file cannot be moved because it is in use.

thank you,

Buddy Farr

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16232
Liked: 1325 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving To New Repository

Post by v.eremin » May 14, 2014 4:00 pm

Are there any job running at the moment that lock corresponding backup files? Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests