Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ForestTom
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 01, 2014 8:56 am
Full Name: Thomas McCaffery
Contact:

Moving VMs across Clusters

Post by ForestTom » Apr 01, 2014 9:05 am

Hello!

I'm Tom, long time user, first time forumer. :D

we have four esx hosts over our 2 sites, one of which is not part of the cluster and only temporary, however this does contain some machines we need to keep. I am aware that with our license we can only have 3 hosts in a cluster so i don't think I can use VMotion to move them across.

i have read about ways to backup both the data and the configuration to a separate storage area and restore from there but i think i read that it wasn't supported?

so yeah just hopefully looking for information or advice on how is best to get this done, anything is appreciated!

Thomas,

IT Technician
Education
2 Years

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving VMs across Clusters

Post by veremin » Apr 01, 2014 9:55 am

Hi, Tom.

As long as the VMs to move are located on a "paid" ESX(i) host, not on a free one, you can migrate them using either Quick Migration or Replication job. The later is preferable as it has Application Aware Image Processing functionality, using which the VMs can be properly quiesced. The "backup/restore" scenario is also fully supported, so, I'm not sure where you've read the opposite.

Thanks.

ForestTom
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 01, 2014 8:56 am
Full Name: Thomas McCaffery
Contact:

Re: Moving VMs across Clusters

Post by ForestTom » Apr 01, 2014 10:11 am

Hello!

thank you for the quick response, we do unfortunately use the free version of the extra host as it was provided to us to only be a temporary solution, but as time went by we hosted several servers on there as the circumstance required it. is this going to create quite an issue?

my apologies with the backup and restore option confusion! i will have to track down where i read it!

Thanks again

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16901
Liked: 1438 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Moving VMs across Clusters

Post by veremin » Apr 01, 2014 10:17 am

we do unfortunately use the free version of the extra host as it was provided to us to only be a temporary solution
In this case, it will be impossible to migrate VMs residing on this host, as it host has certain API calls blocked that prevents us from doing our stuff. If applicable, you can download trial vSphere license in order to cover the said host temporarily and conduct migrating procedure.

Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests