Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Fizzer
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 22, 2012 1:36 pm
Full Name: Andy Braithwaite
Contact:

Multi-site topology

Post by Fizzer » Jun 19, 2012 1:23 pm

Hi All, need some advice on how to setup backups for a remote site.

We have Veeam on our site, backing up all VM's on 4 esxi hosts locally

We would like to use Veeam in a small satellite site in the US with just a couple of hosts and ~15 VMs
In the US site we would like to do local backups AND backups back to the UK over WAN

I was considering the following options:
The US site has its own Veeam server with a proxy in the UK to receive backup data
We run the backups from our UK Veeam server with proxys in the US and UK office

The US office has a seperate domain to the UK office
US has a 10MB internet line
UK has a 1GB internet line

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22311
Liked: 1415 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Multi-site topology

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 19, 2012 4:03 pm

In the US location please do the following:

1. Install Veeam proxy server to retrieve VM data locally.
2. Deploy the repository server to store backup locally.
3. Configure your backup jobs to use these proxy and repository servers.
4. Create a new backup job and point it to any UK repository (if you want to send backups to UK location too).
5. Continue using single Veeam B&R server (is it in the UK site, right?) to manage the entire deployment.

Hope this helps!

Fizzer
Enthusiast
Posts: 38
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 22, 2012 1:36 pm
Full Name: Andy Braithwaite
Contact:

Re: Multi-site topology

Post by Fizzer » Jun 21, 2012 8:42 am

Thanks Vitaly, that's useful information.
I suppose that the only downside of this topology is that if we lose either internet connection, the US local backups won't run :/

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22311
Liked: 1415 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Multi-site topology

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 21, 2012 8:57 am

True, to workaround that you can install a separate Veeam B&R server in the US location and use Enterprise Manager to consolidate the data from both backup servers.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests