Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
marco91000
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 17, 2014 9:38 am
Full Name: LOGA Michel
Contact:

Need help for my architecture

Post by marco91000 » Nov 17, 2014 10:14 am

Hi there,
I really need your advise as I'm new on Veeam B and R:
1-I have 2 sites (Site1 and Site2) with each one an Esx environnement: vsphere + ESXi,
2-So I want Site1 to be a Site2 backup and Site2 to ba Site1 backup.

My questions are:
1-Do I need to have 2 Veeam Backup and Replication on each Site?
2-If yes, on Site1, do I have to add the vSphere of the site2 and on Site2 do I have to add the vSphere of Site1
3-If no, Can I add two vSpheres on the same serveur where Veeam backup and Replication is installed ?

Thanks for your help.

kjc3303
Expert
Posts: 167
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Full Name: Kevin Clarke
Location: Cheshire
Contact:

Re: Need help for my architecture

Post by kjc3303 » Nov 17, 2014 11:00 am

Are you wanting to replicate between sites or send backups to the opposite site?
What connects the sites?

1 - No
3 - Yes

Cheers

Kev

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16710
Liked: 1396 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Need help for my architecture

Post by veremin » Nov 17, 2014 11:09 am

Do you have non-Windows VMs in your environment? If so, you'd better deploy a cold console at the second site in order to lock traffic on the second site during "Other OS" type of restore. Thanks.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18037
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Need help for my architecture

Post by foggy » Nov 17, 2014 11:11 am

Also, are you're going to have backups only or replication is also in your plans?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests