Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

New host question

Post by ashman70 » Jun 24, 2016 7:38 pm

I am deploying a new host at a customer and usually I shut down the VM and migrate it through Vcenter, however today I though, maybe I could replicate it and then just fail over to the replica? The old host is running ESXi 5.0 and the new host is running 5.1, so not much of a difference there. The guest is SBS 2011 so I think I would want to power it down before I replicate it so there are no changes or new emails (I could always close port 25 or stop the exchange services, sure) what do you think? Still better to do it through VCenter or with Veeam?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by Shestakov » Jun 24, 2016 9:39 pm

Hello, you can leverage VMware tools as well as Quick Migration instead of replication. However replication will work as well. Thanks!

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by ashman70 » Jun 24, 2016 9:41 pm

Thanks, I am not able to leverage vmotion in this environment which is why I am considering Veeam.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by Shestakov » Jun 25, 2016 6:51 am

Have you considered Veeam Quick Migration?

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by ashman70 » Jun 25, 2016 2:07 pm

I was actually unaware of this option. Does it leverage snapshot technology when doing the move? The guest I want to move is SBS 2011 with an active Exchange server.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by Shestakov » Jun 25, 2016 11:22 pm

Yes it does. Migration of a VM is performed in 3 stages:
1) Veeam Backup & Replication copies VM configuration (.vmx) to the target host and registers the VM.
2) Veeam Backup & Replication triggers a VM snapshot and copies VM disk content to the new destination.
3) VM state and changes made after snapshot creation are moved to a new location. Veeam Backup & Replication uses different approaches to move the VM state between hosts with compatible and non-compatible CPUs

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by ashman70 » Jun 25, 2016 11:25 pm

I assume I could do this with the VM powered off as well?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by Shestakov » Jun 25, 2016 11:28 pm

That`s correct.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by ashman70 » Jun 26, 2016 7:51 pm

Thanks all, used quick migration and it worked out very well!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6974
Liked: 711 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: New host question

Post by Shestakov » Jun 27, 2016 10:31 am

Great! Once you have a question, don`t hesitate asking!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], JPatel1990, PetrM, smuzzu and 16 guests