New host question

VMware specific discussions

New host question

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:38 pm

I am deploying a new host at a customer and usually I shut down the VM and migrate it through Vcenter, however today I though, maybe I could replicate it and then just fail over to the replica? The old host is running ESXi 5.0 and the new host is running 5.1, so not much of a difference there. The guest is SBS 2011 so I think I would want to power it down before I replicate it so there are no changes or new emails (I could always close port 25 or stop the exchange services, sure) what do you think? Still better to do it through VCenter or with Veeam?
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Jun 24, 2016 9:39 pm

Hello, you can leverage VMware tools as well as Quick Migration instead of replication. However replication will work as well. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 9:41 pm

Thanks, I am not able to leverage vmotion in this environment which is why I am considering Veeam.
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Jun 25, 2016 6:51 am

Have you considered Veeam Quick Migration?
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Sat Jun 25, 2016 2:07 pm

I was actually unaware of this option. Does it leverage snapshot technology when doing the move? The guest I want to move is SBS 2011 with an active Exchange server.
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Jun 25, 2016 11:22 pm

Yes it does. Migration of a VM is performed in 3 stages:
1) Veeam Backup & Replication copies VM configuration (.vmx) to the target host and registers the VM.
2) Veeam Backup & Replication triggers a VM snapshot and copies VM disk content to the new destination.
3) VM state and changes made after snapshot creation are moved to a new location. Veeam Backup & Replication uses different approaches to move the VM state between hosts with compatible and non-compatible CPUs
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Sat Jun 25, 2016 11:25 pm

I assume I could do this with the VM powered off as well?
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Jun 25, 2016 11:28 pm

That`s correct.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Sun Jun 26, 2016 7:51 pm

Thanks all, used quick migration and it worked out very well!
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: New host question

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:31 am

Great! Once you have a question, don`t hesitate asking!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4863
Liked: 396 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests