Newbie? Replication in one site

VMware specific discussions

Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby songphon » Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:56 am

Hi Everyone

I have a newbie question for designed VEEAM solution for SME busineed

Existing environment as below detail.
2 ESXi server mange by 1 physical server (Total 3 physical server)

Customer requirement
1 When server room was attacked from Natural Disaster, we can recovery from backup file
2 No routine activities

Question :
1. It is possible to install all VEEAM component on same server with vCenter Server
2. Can we add ESXi03 to same vCenter with ESXi01 and 02

Image
songphon
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:36 am
Full Name: llpowll

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Nov 02, 2015 10:29 am

Hi,

When server room was attacked from Natural Disaster, we can recovery from backup file
Set up your primary backup job to create backups locally and configure a backup copy job so that your backups get copied to DR location. Optionally you might want to setup an offsite replication for you mission critical servers.

It is possible to install all VEEAM component on same server with vCenter Server
Yes, it is possible and should be OK. Don't forget to check with system requirements, though. Another option would be to virtualize your backup server on the DR ESXi so in case of Natural Disaster your Veeam server stays alive and it will be easier to recover everything. Also consider installing Veeam Endpoint FREE on your vSphere server to protect it.

Can we add ESXi03 to same vCenter with ESXi01 and 02
Sure you can, why not?

May I ask you, what do you mean by "No routine activities"?

Thank you.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby songphon » Mon Nov 02, 2015 10:58 am

Hi PTide

Thanks for your reply, It's sound good for us,
Let me explain you more about ""No routine activities" i mean no user operation after implement this solution but look seem no action :)

And i have questions for this situation as above picture,
1. Which minimum VEEAM component should install on Server Room,
i my understand VEEAM require minimum are 3 component (Backup Server, Backup Proxy and Backup Repository) ?
2. And which component should be install on DR Room ?
songphon
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:36 am
Full Name: llpowll

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:31 am

1. Veeam proxy server and Veeam Repository - the former can be installed either on virtual machine or physical Windows server (Veeam proxy can be installed on your vSphere server, just remember about the requirements). Also as I can see from your diagram you have a FC storage network which means that you can utilize Direct SAN method for better backup performance. That will require a physical Windows server with direct access to your production storage via FC or iSCSI on your production site. I suggest you to keep backup server on your DR site.

2. Secondary backup repository, Veeam backup server, Veeam proxy (optional).
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby songphon » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:53 am

Hi. PTide
Thanks again,

If we install VEEAM backup server on DR room, what about License right? we need to but License on both room?
In my understand is license cover replicate site when DR have no VEEAM Backup server?
songphon
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:36 am
Full Name: llpowll

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby PTide » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:59 am

You don't need an extra license to deploy second Veeam server - you can deploy as many of backup servers, backup proxies, backup repositories as you like while licensed to the correct number of sockets.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby songphon » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:05 pm

PTide oh, your comment is correct I forgot it.
Let me confirm about license again, VEEAM license will count socket only backup site right, e.g. From my diagram that mean VEEAM license will count only ESX01 and ESX02 in my understand is correct?
songphon
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:36 am
Full Name: llpowll

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:59 pm

Correct.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Newbie? Replication in one site

Veeam Logoby songphon » Thu Nov 05, 2015 1:28 am

Hi Foggy,

Thanks a lot...
songphon
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:36 am
Full Name: llpowll


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ERecker and 24 guests