Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

VMware specific discussions

Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:31 am

Hey there,

we have different Priorities for virtual machines in vmWare where each priority is given different retention times for the backup (eg. Prio 1 = 1 Snapshot on the local nimble, 4 weeks of snapshots on the replication nimble and 8 weeks on the Repository Server).

I would use Tagging in vmWare to define which VM has Prio-1, Prio-2 and so on, so that the VM with the Tag Prio-X gets into the corresponding Veeam Job.

Then i would use these Jobs in Veeam to make a Schedule for Prio-1 where the First Backup goes to the Primary Nimble-Snapshot and then as a secondary Destination the Replication-Nimble is assigned.
Then i would need to create another Job in Veeam that uses the replicated Nimble-Snapshot as a source to get the Snapshots from the replication-nimble to the Repository.

Makes sense right?

Since VMs with different Priorities can reside on different Datastores it wouldn't make sense to create many Volume Collections on the nimble right?
So would it be better to put all LUNs/Datastores/Volumes into 1 Big Volume Collection since Veeam will be steering the Nimble Replication and Snapshots?

Hope somebody can enlighten me a little bit, because i couldn't find a "best practice" for Veeam and Nimble...
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:47 am

Hi,

Seems good to me, apparently you've already read this guide :) Nimble has its own best practice pdf, worth checking.
Regarding Volume Collections - I'd try to place all VMs that have the same priority onto the same datastore and create a separate Volume Collection for each Prio group.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:20 am

Hey PTide,

thx for this. Yeah i've read the first Guide but it won't work...

I've opened a ticket, but the whole text isn't formatted anymore :(
#01997612

:Edit: Unfortunately the Nimble-PDF isn't telling anything about the Snapshot functionality as it only describes how to attach a nimble volume to a Veeam Repository Server as a backup target :(

There is something which is unclear for me in the Veeam Blog-Post:

One of the key benefits you get from backups from the secondary storage is minimizing of the performance degradation that impacts your production storage during the backup process.
To be able to back up a VM from the secondary Nimble array, you need to create a snapshot on your primary storage and replicate it to the secondary storage first. After that, Veeam Backup & Replication will back up the VM from the secondary storage.


Does the nimble have to create this Snapshot and replicate it or can i use Veeam to create this Snapshot?
- If i can use Veeam for that. Do i need to create a Replication Job first and then Append the Backup-Job to it? Or can this actually be done with One Backup-Job?
Somehow i miss this Information in every blog-post or help-file.
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:36 pm

You can use Veeam to create Nimble snapshot, please check this article (it describes how it works) and this one - it describes the whole configuration process.

P.S. Actually QA team advised that it is possible to do everything in one Veeam job. You need to check "enable backup from storage snapshot" checkbox and "enable failover to primary storage snapshot" in job settings, then you should specify both primay and secondary Nimbles as a secondary destination and click on the secondary Nimble entry and check the "use as the data source" checkbox. You can also adjust snapshot retention settings there.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Wed Dec 21, 2016 1:04 pm

Can it be that the Blog Post is totally outdated?
https://www.veeam.com/blog/nimble-stora ... guide.html

My Backup-Repository is a Scale-Out Repository from the Backup Proxy which also sees the Nimble Volumes via iSCSI
I also configured secondary Targets where i added Nimble Snapshot and Nimble Snapshot Replicated Copy. The Replicated Copy should be used as a data source.

So far so good.

But Veeam doesn't like this.
When i start the Backupjob the third thing which Veeam tells me is "cannot find matching replicated copies of Nimble Snapshots" and if i wouldn't tick "Failover to primary storage Snapshot" Veeam wouldn't do anything.


Sooo... is the blog Post outdated with the GA Release of Veeam 9.5?
Somehow Veeam wants to look for the replicated storage snapshot first instead of creating the primary storage snapshot, then replicate it and then use the replicated copy as a data source to do place the backup files on the Scale-Out Repository

In the VM i get the Warning "Failed to prepare VM for processing from secondary storage snasphot, failing over to primary storage snapshot"



Edit: If needed i can open a ticket, so that i do a remote session with a Veeam Engineer to get a look at these jobs.
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:01 pm

Yes, please open a case with support team so they can find out the reason why Veeam has not detected a snapshot on the secondary storage. Please don't forget to post case ID. Regarding the blogpost - QA team confirmed that it's still relevant. Could you please be more specific on what exactly did not work?

Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:24 am

Case # 02016715

About the Blogpost:
What isn't working as described in the Blogpost is the part where Veeam uses the nimble replication snapshot as a data-source for the Backup to the local repository.

I've enclosed Screenshots in a word-document into my case - maybe this will help you.
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:36 pm

It should work like described in the blog post, so please look into the possible issues with the help of your support engineer. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:13 am

Yeah i know - it worked already but somehow now it doesn't. Hope that your support can help me.
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:12 am

Update:
Support need to get in contact with other support engineers to see how the nimble storage integration works :-( I've also had to show this forum post to the support engineer because he didn't believed me that Veeam should do the replication-stuff which we where talking... (yes i've included a link to this thread into my ticket)
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:27 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the update, Oliver. Unfortunately, I cannot make much sense of the case notes, since it is in German, so I'd appreciate if you continue keeping us posted about details of your investigation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:56 am

Ticket is going to get internally escalated since the support assumes that Veeam has a Bug.
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:55 pm

Seems like there needs to be a replication of the volume collections configured on the nimble first before you try "use backups from replicated snapshot". Or else Veeam won't find the replicated snapshot copy on the secondard nimble...

Which means on the other side i have the replicated Snapshots from the Nimble as well as the Snapshots from Veeam. Uncool but atleast it seems to be working now.
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 2:53 pm

Yep, this is a valid note that should be clear from the documentation. Thanks for the heads up.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1078 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Nimble and Veeam - Best Practice?

Veeam Logoby oliverL » Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:22 pm 2 people like this post

Jep the technical Writers also did some overhaul to the Helpcenter-Page:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Now there is standing that you have to create a Volume Collection Replication before using this Backup-method and the whole page get alot more Information!

Really nice!
oliverL
Influencer
 
Posts: 22
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests