Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Sep 11, 2019 8:40 am

Scenario
During planned fail-over testing, Veeam was unable to communicate with a vCenter at a remote site whilst the active directory controllers and DNS server at that site were shutdown.
Other active directory controllers and DNS servers were available at the local site where Veeam Mgmt server is located.
This was unexpected.

Can anyone explain what's gone wrong here?
Surely Veeam Mgmt server and proxies should still be able to connect to vCenter ?

Veeam Mgmt Server at Secondary site
Multiple Veeam proxies at both primary and secondary sites
Multiple DNS and Active directory servers at both sites.
vCenters at both sites
Only AD / DNS servers at primary site were shutdown at this point.
Local AD and DNS at secondary site still available.
Account used for Veeam connection to all vCenters was administrator@vsphere.local
vSphere web client from Veeam Mgmt server and proxies continued to work and login with AD or Local accounts.
Veeam console could browse inventory for both vCenters.

Only SOAP connection to primary site vCenter seemed unable to connect.

Case ID# 03756886

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3814
Liked: 458 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by HannesK » Sep 11, 2019 2:20 pm

Hello,
please understand that the forum does not replace support (if I understand the case correctly, then it seems logfiles are missing).

Somewhere in the logs there will probably be a DNS or other network configuration error. I have seen so many issues with networking that I do not try to guess which one it is in this specific case :-)

Best regards,
Hannes

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3755
Liked: 666 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Sep 11, 2019 5:12 pm

Yes, logs will show what the real issue is.

Potentially we got from the vcenter API a FQDN address that was not resolvable by one of our servers (Proxies). FQDN is used even if you add vcenter by IP or hostname.

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Sep 11, 2019 6:40 pm

OK, so for clarity, is it the Veeam Management Server making the SOAP connection or one or more Veeam Proxies ?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3814
Liked: 458 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by HannesK » Sep 12, 2019 6:23 am

Hello,
please see the according sections in https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4

Best regards,
Hannes

DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 141
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by DeadEyedJacks » Sep 12, 2019 8:39 am

@HannesK, Normally the forum is good for asking general questions on usage and functionality. Support does a decent job on resolving specific errors, but increasingly seems unwilling to answer questions.
As above, I asked a specific question and rather than answering the question you posted a link to a very long and all encompassing article.

@Andreas, this client has restrictions on uploading to the Internet, so successfully extracting Gigabytes of logs from a secure network and then transferring to a location from whence they can be uploaded is a complex and time consuming tasks.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3814
Liked: 458 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: No SOAP connection to vCenter without Domain Controllers ?

Post by HannesK » Sep 12, 2019 9:00 am

Hello,
yes sure... they are not happy because they don't have full logs. And it's not their job to answer questions which are described in the user guide (might be the case here).

Sorry for not posting the direct link to the proxy and backup server section... I believed that it is easy to find
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... 95u4#proxy
Image

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... 5u4#backup
Image

you can also just search in the logfiles. Just use nodepad++ or or something else that can search in folders and you will probably find out on your own without uploading any logs.

Best regards,
Hannes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: restore-helper and 35 guests