Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
indikaw
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2019 7:26 am
Full Name: Indika Wasala
Contact:

Offsite Backup Copy with EMC Data Domain

Post by indikaw » Jan 19, 2019 7:36 am

Hi,

I have read in veeam-backup-replication-f2/ddboost-off ... 25433.html, to replicate a backup copy to DR site with EMC datadomain, we need to make a copy of the original backup MTREE to another MTREE and to replicate that MTREE to the DR site MTREE.

Is that the recommended architecture and how to restore a replicated backup from DR site afterwards. (Do we need to have same production site Veeam architecture in DR to do the restore..)

Thanks,
Indika

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17434
Liked: 1447 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Offsite Backup Copy with EMC Data Domain

Post by foggy » Jan 22, 2019 5:28 pm

Hi Indika, in case of using external replication, you can import replicated backups into Veeam B&R installation and perform restores.

dustinn3
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Oct 14, 2013 1:53 pm
Full Name: Dustin Newby
Contact:

Re: Offsite Backup Copy with EMC Data Domain

Post by dustinn3 » Jan 23, 2019 3:23 am

Indika,
As Foggy said you would have to import the replicated backups. It would be great if Veeam was aware of the DD replication as it's certainly more efficient and less problematic than backup copies IME. However I decided to do Veeam backup copies instead of DD replication because of the rescan time is pretty long as well as the backup copy job allows you to set different retentions for DR. I wanted to just keep more recent backups locally and keep my long term backups offsite.

indikaw
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2019 7:26 am
Full Name: Indika Wasala
Contact:

Re: Offsite Backup Copy with EMC Data Domain

Post by indikaw » Jan 23, 2019 3:53 am

Thanks guys for the insights...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests