Option > Remove from disk

VMware specific discussions

Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby dcampregher » Wed Mar 29, 2017 2:56 pm

Hello,

After exclude a large VM from one JOB, i can't wait the 15 days specified in the the "Remove deleted VMs" to the VM data be purged from inside the VBK file.

Is there an option to speed up the cleanup process of the VBK file instead of be waiting ?

The impact is that the Merge ( Forever Forward Incremental Backup is used ) and the data previsouly created for this large VM are impacting on the time do finish the Merge.

Thanks!
dcampregher
Service Provider
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:57 pm
Full Name: Diogo Campregher

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:43 pm

Hi,

Why not to set it to 1 day instead of 14?

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3137
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby dcampregher » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:37 pm

Beacause the RP is set to 14.

So, what the option Remove From Disk at the Restore interface.
dcampregher
Service Provider
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:57 pm
Full Name: Diogo Campregher

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:46 pm

Please check this page (Example 1). If you set "Remove deleted VMs" value to X then the VM will be removed form the backup on the X's day (given that the job will start on that day).
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3137
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby dcampregher » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:58 pm

I know this option but i cannot change this because it is a "security" step for errors in a configurarion ( if an user remove a wrong VM from the JOB Configuration ). So i need to know what is the impact of the option "Remove From Disk" option inside the GUI on the "Backup > Disk > JOB > VM " with an Standard Edition and how it works.

Do you understand ?
dcampregher
Service Provider
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:57 pm
Full Name: Diogo Campregher

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:27 pm

If you choose "Delete from disk" option the backup will be irreversibly deleted from the repository. Regarding "security" step - you can change the value, start compact operation and change the value back to 14.
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3137
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby dcampregher » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:56 pm

OK.

I think only the VM Data where i click "Remove From Disk" will be removed from inside the VBK file, right ? All other VM Data from inside this VBK file will be keep ?
dcampregher
Service Provider
 
Posts: 51
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:57 pm
Full Name: Diogo Campregher

Re: Option > Remove from disk

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:26 am

If per-VM backup chains option is not enabled, the "Remove From Disk" command doesn't actually deletes anything, it just marks VBK file blocks belonging to that VM as free so that they could be re-used by the job in future.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15087
Liked: 1110 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Retention of VMs no longer backupped

Veeam Logoby GabesVirtualWorld » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:40 am

Hi
The docs explain how you can set a retention on a job, so that if you remove a VM from a backup job, it will be deleted after x days. However, for use this doesn't work as desired (I think, but might be wrong).

If my backup job has 14 restore points set and my customers asks for VM01 & VM02 to be removed, but they want VM01 immediately removed (unimportant VM and they don't want to pay for the storage) and VM02 to be removed after 30 days. How would I do this?

Could I maybe change the retention per VM by using PowerShell?

Gabrie
GabesVirtualWorld
Service Provider
 
Posts: 140
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:49 am
Full Name: Gabrie van Zanten

Re: Retention of VMs no longer backupped

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:27 pm

Hi Gabrie,

You cannot immediately free up storage space by deleting VMs from the backup, so they will have to pay for the consumed storage until you run new full or compact operation (depending on where you want to delete backups from). Please read this existing topic for other clarifications.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19770
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests