Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

VMware specific discussions

Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:38 pm

I added a new host to a vcenter cluster. I migrated a couple machines to the new host and when their jobs ran for the first time, they failed with the following error(s):

Job Error:

Failed to create processing task for VM machinename Error: Host 'hostname' with type 'ESX' and parentId '8b837b85-05e1-4c5b-ae2c-18d1a84c06ba' not found.

Machine in job error:

Task failed Error: Host 'hostname' with type 'ESX' and parentId '8b837b85-05e1-4c5b-ae2c-18d1a84c06ba' not found.

What could cause this?
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby nefes » Mon Sep 30, 2013 2:49 pm

Colin, have you tried to rescan your VCenter under Backup Infrastructure node?
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 534
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:00 pm

Colin, with all technical issues please contact support directly, as it is advised when you click New Topic. Thanks.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19545
Liked: 1099 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:05 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Colin, with all technical issues please contact support directly, as it is advised when you click New Topic. Thanks.


Sorry. I get a little fuzzy on what is acceptable and what isn't in the forums when it comes to asking for help.

I'll open a case.
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:15 pm 1 person likes this post

Support case ID: 00453086
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:27 pm

nefes wrote:Colin, have you tried to rescan your VCenter under Backup Infrastructure node?


The host does show up under vcenter in the veeam console. I am running a rescan anyway now.
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:38 pm

Also, you can try to re-add given VMs to the backup job and see whether it helps or not. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby choldings » Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:52 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Also, you can try to re-add given VMs to the backup job and see whether it helps or not. Thanks.


I did this for one of the failed jobs and it seems to have worked. My only concern now is will I need to remove and re add any virtual machine that has been migrated to this new host from its existing Veeam job and re add it.

I'm going to see what happens when they run tonight.

The rescan was a success and Veeam appears to be aware of the host.
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Oct 01, 2013 8:34 am

As long as VMs are added to backup console via vCenter, backup server should be vMotion aware and you shouldn’t encounter any issues after VM migration. However, it seems that vCenter added to backup console didn't know about the new host and about the fact that certain VMs had been migrated to it, thus, backup jobs failed. So, now, when the rescan is done, everything should be ok, even without manual re-adding of VMs.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby choldings » Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:38 pm

Thanks! I verified this morning that another virtual machine that was migrated to the new host did in fact backup successfully without the need to remove and re add it from the job.
choldings
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 31
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 pm
Full Name: Colin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:18 pm

Glad to hear that you’ve finally nailed it down. Should any additional help be needed, don’t hesitate to let us know. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby rreed » Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:59 pm

Morning, all. Looks like in v9 this might still be happening. We've rolled a new vCenter, removed a few hosts from the old, added to the new. One of our hosts w/ its VMs worked fine the first day or two. Last night it's throwing "PhysicalHost with id 'blah' was not found." I've removed the host, re-added to the vcenter, rescanned the vcenter, rescanned all vcenters, even the rescanning throws the error. If I scan the individual host, it seems perfectly fine and happy and sees it. I can move VMs back to it, remove/re-add, it picks up the VMs on the host. But scanning the vcenter or especially backups keeps returning this error and the backups of course fail for any VMs on that host.
VMware 6
Veeam B&R v9
Dell DR4100's
EMC DD2200's
EMC DD620's
Dell TL2000 via PE430 (SAS)
rreed
Expert
 
Posts: 354
Liked: 72 times
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:06 pm

Re: Problem with backups after adding new host to vcenter

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:23 pm

I'd approach support with this, logs review is required.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14728
Liked: 1077 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests