Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Problem with Veeam 6

Post by ashman70 » Jul 29, 2014 9:07 pm

I have a customer still on Veeam 6.0 who has had a backup job stuck at 0% for some time, its just been brought to my attention. I have tried to stop the backup job in the Veeam console but it doesn't appear to stopping, obviously there is a VMWare snapshot in play here. To add to the problem I need to reboot the virtual machine but I don't want to until I get some guidance on how to proceed.

Veeam version is 6.0.0.153
VMWare is 5.0.0.623860

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23432
Liked: 1666 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 29, 2014 9:15 pm

You can try to ending all Veeam processes (via Task Manager/Process Explorer) on the backup server, this should fail the job. After that I would recommend removing the snapshot on the production VM and plan the upgrade process to our latest release.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by ashman70 » Jul 29, 2014 9:39 pm

So stop the Veeam services on the backup server, effectively killing the job, understood. Then delete the snapshot for the VM in the virtual infrastructure client?

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by ashman70 » Jul 29, 2014 9:43 pm

I just stopped and then restarted all the Veeam services on the backup server, went back into Veeam and the job is still showing as stuck at 0%?? What can I do now?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23432
Liked: 1666 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 29, 2014 9:47 pm

I was referring to Veeam processes, not services. Please check out our KB article for more info > http://www.veeam.com/kb1727
ashman70 wrote:Then delete the snapshot for the VM in the virtual infrastructure client?
Correct.

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by ashman70 » Jul 29, 2014 9:48 pm

Ah, ok well I rebooted the backup server, should achieve the same thing, thanks.

AM

ashman70
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by ashman70 » Jul 29, 2014 9:53 pm

Ok that worked, however when I go into the VIC and go to snapshot manager, it says Veeam Temporary snapshot 'Please do not delete this snapshot, it is being used by VEEAM' Am I still good to delete it?

It deleted the snapshot itself, everything looks good, thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23432
Liked: 1666 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Problem with Veeam 6

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 30, 2014 7:43 am

Yes, this snapshot should be cleaned up by next job run automatically. Good to hear, that you're up and running, however I still suggest upgrading to the latest release, as soon your version will be unsupported.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests