Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
brichardson1991_obk
Expert
Posts: 112
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Aug 20, 2015 2:20 pm
Full Name: Ben Richardson
Contact:

Proxy on V9 - Multiple Console using it

Post by brichardson1991_obk » Dec 06, 2016 4:42 pm

Hi Guys,

I've got a proxy running the newest version 9.5.0.711 along with my main production backup server
Is it possible to add the proxy to another console (management) running 9.0.0.1491 or will i have to upgrade it first?

PTide
Veeam Software
Posts: 4423
Liked: 364 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Proxy on V9 - Multiple Console using it

Post by PTide » Dec 06, 2016 5:32 pm

Hi,

You'll have to upgrade the console first. May I ask you why do you want to share it?

Thank you.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16950
Liked: 1380 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Proxy on V9 - Multiple Console using it

Post by foggy » Dec 07, 2016 12:10 pm

Basic rule for sharing Veeam B&R components between two consoles is having them both at the same patch level.

denit
Service Provider
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 07, 2016 1:58 pm
Full Name: Denit Support
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam 9 and Veeam 9.5 using same proxy?

Post by denit » Jan 06, 2017 9:50 am

Dear reader(s),

I have looked for some confirmation/ explanation about this.

We have a Veeam 9 server that has 2 proxies connected to it.
We have decided to install a new Veeam server and immediately install Veeam 9.5 on the new one.

The reason we install a new Veeam 9.5 server is to eventually replace the Veeam 9 server.

I was wondering if it is possible to have both servers (version 9 and version 9.5) use the same proxies?

Otherwise i will probably have to upgrade the Veeam 9 to version 9.5 first.

I remember upgrading a Veeam server once and the upgrade did something with the proxies i think.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21629
Liked: 1296 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam 9 and Veeam 9.5 using same proxy?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 06, 2017 11:58 am

Hi Denit,

Sharing any components from different Veeam backup server versions is not supported.

Thanks!

denit
Service Provider
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 07, 2016 1:58 pm
Full Name: Denit Support
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Proxy on V9 - Multiple Console using it

Post by denit » Jan 06, 2017 12:34 pm

Thanks!
I appreciate the answer, i know what to do now.
I will first upgrade the existing Veeam 9 server.

Have a good weekend!

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21629
Liked: 1296 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Proxy on V9 - Multiple Console using it

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 06, 2017 12:38 pm

You're welcome. Let us know if you have any further questions.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests