Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
agoldenlife
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 03, 2014 5:45 pm
Full Name: James Golden
Contact:

Proxy Setup questions

Post by agoldenlife » Jul 05, 2018 6:44 pm

OK, this is probably a simple question. I have walked into a situation, and because I have not seen some of these things before. I don't know if it is supposed to be this way or not. I can't seem to find any documentation that says it should be, but before I dismantle it...

I have 2 proxy servers setup and a main server to control the backup jobs. I am cleaning up the proxies as it seems they are configured differently, and I can't seem to find anything that says they should be configured at all.

Setup
all 3 are VM's with iSCSI access to Nimble SAN where VM disks are stored. They backup to a single CIFS share on a Synology.
the 2 proxy servers have some of the storage infrastructure added to Veeam B&R and they both have the nimble storage added under storage infrastructure.

Question: Do the proxy servers need any configuration other than having the iSCSI access to the Nimble SAN? I noticed that the Synology shows up under backup repositories for each. Does that even need to be there? I figured since the jobs are run/controlled from server1 and 2 and 3 are just proxies they should not need to be configured. Just make sure they have access.

Thanks!

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 192
Liked: 45 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Proxy Setup questions

Post by nitramd » Jul 05, 2018 8:25 pm 1 person likes this post

James,

In simple terms, you need 3 components for backup: a B&R console, a proxy, and a data repository; it seems that you're covered.

Veeam proxies are data movers so you're correct that they need access to your infrastructure. Your Backup and Recovery (B&R) console (server 1) will install software on servers 2 and 3 so they can function as proxies.

If I'm interpreting correctly, server 1 is your B&R console, servers 2 and 3 are proxies, and your Synology is your data repository.

If you have not yet reviewed the Veeam backup proxy information follow this link: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23003
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Proxy Setup questions

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jul 08, 2018 6:13 pm

agoldenlife wrote:Do the proxy servers need any configuration other than having the iSCSI access to the Nimble SAN?
It depends. If you want to use Direct SAN mode, then iSCSI access should be enough. However if you're using storage snapshots to back up your data, then some additional steps might be required.
agoldenlife wrote:I noticed that the Synology shows up under backup repositories for each. Does that even need to be there? I figured since the jobs are run/controlled from server1 and 2 and 3 are just proxies they should not need to be configured. Just make sure they have access.
Yes, Synology device should be listed in the repository section.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EdwinW and 33 guests