Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Bunce
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

query on v5 - vsphere 5 support

Post by Bunce »

We've held off upgrading to v6 due to a couple of the remaining known issues.

While the FAQ clearly states v 5 does not support vsphere5, I was wondering if anyone had tried running veeam5 backups with only vcenter upgraded to v5 while esx hosts still on v4?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24249
Liked: 1860 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: query on v5 - vsphere 5 support

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Andrew, actually Veeam B&R v5 does support vSphere 5. Please refer to this KB1311 article for more info.

Bunce
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: query on v5 - vsphere 5 support

Post by Bunce »

Thanks Vitaly.

All good, however had another issue.

For anyone going through the same thing, you may notice duplicate datastores after upgrading Vcenter to V5 - the previous copy becomes inactive and Veeam cannot connect with a SOAP error similar to:

Code: Select all

Can't process object ADL-FPS02.
Invalid SoapPath fullName: 'sanfs://vmfs_uuid:4c882201-21eb2c8d-8a24-18a905529cc2/Win-7RTM-Ent-x86 (ADL)/Win-7RTM-Ent-x86 (ADL).vmtx'.
Strangely, the file it points to is actually a VM template.

Fix is to remove any templates from the VC inventory at which point the duplicate datastores immediately disappear.

Veeam can then connect, and jobs runs OK.

Summarised here:
http://communities.vmware.com/thread/338927

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ctalbot and 32 guests