Question about backup and replication jobs

VMware specific discussions

Question about backup and replication jobs

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:33 pm

What is the designed expected behaviour for the following scenario.

I have a replication job that runs every half hour for a VM, I also have a backup job for this VM that runs once a day, it is configured as reverse incremental and does a full backup every Saturday night. What will happen when the backup job is running and the replication job tries to run? The backup job for this VM can take 5-6hrs, so will the replication job simply wait until the backup job is finished before it can run?

Also, I have a Backup Exec job that runs to tape on the same host that runs Veeam and this job backs up my exchange mailbox store. I also have a replication job for the exchange server that runs every two hours. Will these two jobs conflict and cause problems? Should I not backup exchange to tape any longer? Or should I remove the replication job from running during the time the backup to tape job is running?
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: Question about backup and replication jobs

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:21 pm

ashman70 wrote:What will happen when the backup job is running and the replication job tries to run? The backup job for this VM can take 5-6hrs, so will the replication job simply wait until the backup job is finished before it can run?

Yes, it will wait. See this topic for further reading > Replication and backups

Also, I have a Backup Exec job that runs to tape on the same host that runs Veeam and this job backs up my exchange mailbox store. I also have a replication job for the exchange server that runs every two hours. Will these two jobs conflict and cause problems? Should I not backup exchange to tape any longer? Or should I remove the replication job from running during the time the backup to tape job is running?

Why don't you use Veeam backup to tape job instead? I'm not aware how your BE job retrieves data, but I believe there should not be any issues.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Question about backup and replication jobs

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:23 pm

I am considering Veeam backup to tape jobs but I am doing at lot with Veeam at this client at the moment and will likely come back to it shortly. Do the backup to tape jobs just copy the backup files to tape?
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 195
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: Question about backup and replication jobs

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:29 pm

Yes, you can either send Veeam backups or any other file to tape device. Please review our on-line help center > Archiving Data to Tape
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] : Replicating and Backups

Veeam Logoby JohnGG » Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:55 am

Gday again, i just wanted to shoot a quick question.
im currently doing replications every night, i have also started doing backups to a USB drive a well so we can take it off site.

Now does replicating and backup jobs create any issues, am i breaking a backup chain by replication and vice versa?
JohnGG
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 57
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:52 pm
Full Name: John G

Re: Question about backup and replication jobs

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Dec 21, 2015 9:35 am

No issues. Should the jobs overlap, job started later will wait till the job started earlier finishes. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] : Replicating and Backing up same VM's

Veeam Logoby aevans@ricoh.com.au » Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:48 pm

Hi,

Currently we only use Veeam to replicate our entire production environment from our main datacenter to a secondary DR datacenter keeping 5 replicas.
We are now looking at also using Veeam for our normal day to day and archival backups. We are looking at setting up our backups to go to a dedup appliance like HP StoreOnce or similar.

So my question is does anyone else do something similar? How well does Veeam handle this type of situation, if a backup and replication job is run at the same time is the job going to fail due to conflicts etc.

Basically our architecture would be like below.
Replicate production VM's from NetApp in primary datacenter to Compellent in secondary datacenter
Backup VM's from NetApp in primary datacenter to HP StoreOnce in primary datacenter then flush off daily or weekly to tape (waiting on business decision)

I know Veeam will handle the two targets fine, more concerned about the conflicts as our backup window is already quite large so would be hard to schedule jobs so they always finish and don't conflict.

Thanks.
aevans@ricoh.com.au
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:06 am
Full Name: Andrew Evans

Re: Question about backup and replication jobs

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 18, 2016 9:24 am

Hi, Andrew,

I can confirm that the scenario you've described is absolutely possible and should not result in any issues whatsoever. The job started later will be patiently waiting, causing no problems.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests