Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

VMware specific discussions

Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:00 am

Hi,

Let me first explain the infrastructure we use:
1. Backup Server HP DL380 G8 (where VEEAM is installed)
- 12Gb ram
- 1 lun 18Tb
- 2Gb Trunk in the VM network
- 2Gb trunk in the iSCSI network

2. 2 esx servers DL360 G8
- 2 ports in the VM network
- 2 port in the iSCSI network

3. HP Storevirtual P4500
- 4 nodes in raid 5 (internal)
- Network raid 10 (nodes)

4. 1 Virtual server for Vsphere
- 1 port for network connection

When i'm doing backups to the backup server, i get a 90% bottle neck on source and a Throughput of 40MB/s.

Thats kinda low imo.
I'm trying to find where the problem is.

I can see that the proxy uses the network trunk on the backup server.
The backup proxy is set up in automatic mode and failover to network mode if primary transport modes fail.
Max concurrent tasks is set to 4.
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:29 pm

Update

- I've presented my lun's to the VEEAM server (in read only mode) and configured microsoft iSCSI initiator to connect to the volumes.
Now i'm getting a Throughput of about 70-80 MB/s

But i'm still not satisfied, i want to get at least 100MB/s and i know its possible with the hardware i'm using.
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:16 pm

I have noticed that you're using StoreVirtual as underlying storage. You can also try to utilize Storage Snapshots functionality and see whether it increases backup performance. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:20 pm

Hi eremin,

Yes i know, but i don't want to have storage snapshots on the SAN.
i noticed when i select to have 10 restore points to keep on disk, it also keeps 10 storage snapshots...
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:34 pm

In fact, the situation is slightly different. Once the backup process is finished, the corresponding SAN snapshot should be automatically removed.

May be you've mixed it up with Veeam Explorer for SAN Snapshots?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:37 pm

Nope,

When i did the upgrade from v6 to v7 it automatically switched to storage snapshots for my backup jobs, that resulted in a mail from the SAN saying it was @ 90 % of its capacity.
I looked directly in the SAN management console i found 20+ storage snapshots
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:42 pm

If these snapshots were created during backup activity, they should have been deleted immediately after the backup was finished. In other words, the described behavior is unexpected. Some of the previously existed issues were fixed in recent patches. If this issue is reproducible, you'd better contact our support team and let them investigate it directly.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:53 pm

Ok, I'll give it another go and let you know the outcome ;-)
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:27 pm

Ok when using storage snapshots i get the same Throughput.
No real performance advantage...

The snapshots get deleted automatically so that's good :-)

But as far as the speed goes, am i forgetting something ?
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 05, 2014 4:21 pm

Hi Tim,

I wouldn't expect much difference in performance when using backup jobs from SAN snapshots. One of the main benefits of it is to offload the snapshot creation/deletion operation to the storage array.

TieT wrote:Now i'm getting a Throughput of about 70-80 MB/s

Do you have it for full or incremental job passes?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:23 am

i use it for an incremental pass, with creation of fulls on saturday.

Can i use SAN Snapshots when i've got a server with a mapped RAW lun attached to it ?
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:38 am

Can i use SAN Snapshots when i've got a server with a mapped RAW lun attached to it ?

Are you talking here about VM with RAW LUN attached to it or about something different? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:40 am

TieT wrote:- I've presented my lun's to the VEEAM server (in read only mode) and configured microsoft iSCSI initiator to connect to the volumes.
Now i'm getting a Throughput of about 70-80 MB/s

But i'm still not satisfied, i want to get at least 100MB/s and i know its possible with the hardware i'm using.

Have you tried these recommendations for increasing backup performance when using direct SAN over iSCSI?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby TieT » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:46 am

Yes, i've read and tested those netsh commands
No mayor improvement detected
TieT
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:28 pm
Full Name: Tim Tielens

Re: Question in regards to the Infrastructure/setup.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:49 am

Actually having 70-80 MB/s on the full job run is not that bad. Could you please elaborate on why are you sure your setup is able to provide more? Btw, what is the bottleneck for this job when it's using direct SAN access?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests