Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
pirx
Veeam Legend
Posts: 459
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by pirx »

Quick question, is there any way to do a quick backup of a powered down vCenter? This is needed for migration to a new vSphere version and I would like to not only rely on snapshot and vCenter appliance backup.

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 5602
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by Mildur »

Hi Pirx

If you have configured your backup job to backup the vCenter using the vCenter as a source, then no.
You need the vCenter for the backup.
As a workaround, you can create a second job which backups the vCenter over the ESXI Host. Then quick backup will work over the ESXI Host.

Thanks
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

pirx
Veeam Legend
Posts: 459
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by pirx »

We connect to vCenter for backups. I just tried to add the ESXi host where vCenter is running in Managed Servers -> New VMware Server but this fails with "VMware ESXi with name.... already exist". So how would I create a second job based on ESXi host and not vCenter?

Regnor
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 840
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Full Name: Max
Contact:

Re: Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by Regnor » 1 person likes this post

If you connect the hosts via hostname to vCenter, then use the IP in Veeam; or the other way around.

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 5602
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by Mildur »

Yes, as max recommended, that should work.

Thanks
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

Origin 2000
Service Provider
Posts: 44
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Sep 24, 2020 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by Origin 2000 »

Using an IP <> FQDN is also needed if you have a need to restore VCSA in a case of emergency. Keep notice that when working with a ESXi you can only deal with vSS or empheral based portgroups(vDS). You cant migrate/replicate your VCSA to a vDS portgroup which use static bindings.

Regards,
Joerg

pirx
Veeam Legend
Posts: 459
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Dec 20, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Backup with powered down vCenter

Post by pirx »

Adding the IP worked.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests