Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
dwhite
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 23, 2012 10:51 am

Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by dwhite » Nov 23, 2012 11:47 am

Hi all,

I'm just experimenting with B&R in my environment and can do a cold migration no problem, but can't figure out why I can't do a hot migration with Smartswitch. I have tried to set up things as per the documentation:

2 Esxi (Essentials licence) servers, identical hardware.
No shared storage
One interface on each server connected by a crossover cable (10.2.1.x)
B&R VM on the crossover interface

The servers show up and and I can manage them and a cold migration goes through really quickly.

Could someone point out anything I've missed please?

Thanks in advance,
David

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25463
Liked: 3860 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by Gostev » Nov 23, 2012 12:25 pm

Hi David - should work out of box in your scenario. Make sure you are using the latest product version, and open a support case for investigation. Thanks!

dwhite
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 23, 2012 10:51 am

Re: Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by dwhite » Nov 23, 2012 12:50 pm

Hi,

Sorry, I meant to say I'm using Backup Free Edition, not B&R, and I presumed I wouldn't be able to log a support call?

Thanks,
David

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18642
Liked: 1628 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by foggy » Nov 23, 2012 12:55 pm

David, everybody using free version is eligible for support. Though, free and paid versions have different SLAs (please see our support policy for details). In short, cases created by paid customers get highest priority, and there are no response guarantees for free edition users (based on staff availability).

dwhite
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 23, 2012 10:51 am

Re: Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by dwhite » Nov 23, 2012 12:59 pm

Thanks for putting me right, I'll get in touch with support.

David

marich
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 12, 2012 12:00 am
Full Name: Matthew Richards
Contact:

Re: Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by marich » Dec 12, 2012 12:07 am

Anyone still following this thread?

I am interested to hear if the problem was resolved as I am also about to attempt a quick migration between two hosts (using VMware 5.1 essentials licensing and Veeam 6.5 B&R essentials licensing).

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23394
Liked: 1659 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Quick migration with Smartswitch

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 12, 2012 8:05 am

Hi Matthew,

Could you please tell me whether you've experienced any issues with the scenario mentioned above or you just want to check if it is possible to do or not?

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kyle.shuberg, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 22 guests