Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Jois
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 24, 2012 1:05 pm
Contact:

Quick Migration without vcenter

Post by Jois » Sep 15, 2014 10:02 am

Hi,
I have a question about Quick Migration. Does this work if vcenter sever is down? Isn't it dependent on vcenter snapshots?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22973
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Quick Migration without vcenter

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 15, 2014 10:08 am

Hi Jois,

If you have vCenter Server added to the console and run your jobs through this connection, then jobs will fail with a connection error. In order to migrate VMs when vCenter Server is down, you can add individual hosts to the backup console and run Quick Migration jobs.

Thanks!

Jois
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 24, 2012 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Migration without vcenter

Post by Jois » Sep 15, 2014 10:57 am

OK. Can I have both vcenter (and there all ESXi hosts) and individual hosts registered at the same time? Or do I have to remove the vcenter connection before register individual hosts?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18244
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Quick Migration without vcenter

Post by foggy » Sep 15, 2014 11:06 am

You can have them added both ways, just be sure to use host's IP addresses to add them as standalone, if vCenter is added via DNS name (or vice versa).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], SHL and 28 guests