Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
ldeeder
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 22, 2010 3:24 pm
Full Name: Larry Deeder
Contact:

RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Post by ldeeder »

I created a Replication job of a Windows XP machine that has a static IP (192.168.100.180) in the primary site. The DR site is on a different subnet (192.168.6.0). I created the job with the RE-IP option and set the IP for the target VM in the DR site to 192.168.6.180. The replication job completes without error. When I run the failover, the VM in the DR site powers on just fine, but maintains the static IP address of the VM in the production site. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this? TIA

Larry

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26679
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Post by Gostev »

Hi Larry, failover logs must be investigated here to say what went wrong. There is couple of issues around re-IP rules not applied currently being investigated (see known issues sticky in the main forum). Other than that, I have not heard of any problems with this functionality. Thanks!

Basem
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 06, 2015 9:31 pm
Full Name: Basem Abubaker
Contact:

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Post by Basem »

I am working on version 8 of veeam Backup & replication & unfortunately I still have the same issue !!

what happened ?
why veeam doesn't change the IP to the target IP configuration ?
it just keep on using the IP configuration of the main vm !!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19434
Liked: 1764 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Post by foggy »

Please contact technical support to verify your configuration and review job debug logs. Thanks.

Basem
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Apr 06, 2015 9:31 pm
Full Name: Basem Abubaker
Contact:

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Post by Basem » 2 people like this post

Thanks .. I have solved the issue & the ip is changed to the configuration I provided.

Regards
Basem

lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 353
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Post by lowlander »

ldeeder wrote:I created a Replication job of a Windows XP machine that has a static IP (192.168.100.180) in the primary site. The DR site is on a different subnet (192.168.6.0). I created the job with the RE-IP option and set the IP for the target VM in the DR site to 192.168.6.180. The replication job completes without error. When I run the failover, the VM in the DR site powers on just fine, but maintains the static IP address of the VM in the production site. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this? TIA

Larry
Hi Larry,

did you try using wildcards ?

source IP address 192.168.100.*
target IP address 192.168.6.*

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests