RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

VMware specific discussions

RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Veeam Logoby ldeeder » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:35 pm

I created a Replication job of a Windows XP machine that has a static IP (192.168.100.180) in the primary site. The DR site is on a different subnet (192.168.6.0). I created the job with the RE-IP option and set the IP for the target VM in the DR site to 192.168.6.180. The replication job completes without error. When I run the failover, the VM in the DR site powers on just fine, but maintains the static IP address of the VM in the production site. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this? TIA

Larry
ldeeder
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 3:24 pm
Full Name: Larry Deeder

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:16 am

Hi Larry, failover logs must be investigated here to say what went wrong. There is couple of issues around re-IP rules not applied currently being investigated (see known issues sticky in the main forum). Other than that, I have not heard of any problems with this functionality. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Veeam Logoby Basem » Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:38 pm

I am working on version 8 of veeam Backup & replication & unfortunately I still have the same issue !!

what happened ?
why veeam doesn't change the IP to the target IP configuration ?
it just keep on using the IP configuration of the main vm !!
Basem
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:31 pm
Full Name: Basem Abubaker

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:23 am

Please contact technical support to verify your configuration and review job debug logs. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Veeam Logoby Basem » Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:29 pm 2 people like this post

Thanks .. I have solved the issue & the ip is changed to the configuration I provided.

Regards
Basem
Basem
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:31 pm
Full Name: Basem Abubaker

Re: RE-IP Failing to change IP on DR Site

Veeam Logoby lowlander » Mon Apr 13, 2015 11:36 am

ldeeder wrote:I created a Replication job of a Windows XP machine that has a static IP (192.168.100.180) in the primary site. The DR site is on a different subnet (192.168.6.0). I created the job with the RE-IP option and set the IP for the target VM in the DR site to 192.168.6.180. The replication job completes without error. When I run the failover, the VM in the DR site powers on just fine, but maintains the static IP address of the VM in the production site. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this? TIA

Larry


Hi Larry,

did you try using wildcards ?

source IP address 192.168.100.*
target IP address 192.168.6.*
lowlander
Service Provider
 
Posts: 267
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Interconnect-WvT and 14 guests