Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
natrimac
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 13, 2013 2:37 pm
Full Name: Will Pulsifer
Contact:

Re IP Whats the point

Post by natrimac » Oct 29, 2013 5:17 pm

So I understand the intent of re ip, but what's the point of it if it relies on your production Veeam server to be "alive" to make it work. Is it not the point that you are in a DR\BC mode and the production side is down hence bringing up the replicas?

Is there a way to take the Veeam server wit the DB out of the mix entirely without having to manually re ip everything? Any ideas around how to accomplish this would be great.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 29, 2013 6:13 pm

Will, this is exactly why we recommend placing Veeam backup server on the DR site to make all the work when your main site goes down.

natrimac
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 13, 2013 2:37 pm
Full Name: Will Pulsifer
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by natrimac » Oct 29, 2013 7:23 pm

I have a server in both my prod site and DR, but my replications push to DR rather than pull. Are you saying that they should pull? if so is there a way to change the job without having to di a full replication pass?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24473
Liked: 3413 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by Gostev » Oct 29, 2013 7:38 pm

There is no push or pull. Replication traffic goes direct from source site proxy to target site proxy. Backup server is not involved in data transfer, it only initializes and controls the job execution.

natrimac
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 13, 2013 2:37 pm
Full Name: Will Pulsifer
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by natrimac » Oct 29, 2013 7:46 pm

right, I guess what I meant was I have the job running from the veeam server in the primary site and "pushing" the data to the DR site. I have rebuilt to jobs at the DR site to run from there and set the seeding to point to the existing replicas. Ill update once they finish and I test.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 29, 2013 8:40 pm

Even with replication jobs rebuilt you do not need to run a full pass, just use VM mapping functionality on the second backup server to start transferring changes only.

natrimac
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 13, 2013 2:37 pm
Full Name: Will Pulsifer
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by natrimac » Oct 29, 2013 8:45 pm

So once the job is done and the re ip is working, will veeam take care of all the DNS changes that AD will need done when the ip of the DC changes. Will it run things like dcdiag /fixall fir di I still need to do that by hand?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22777
Liked: 1526 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Re IP Whats the point

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 29, 2013 9:04 pm 1 person likes this post

All DNS record changes on the DC should be done manually. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests