Remote Replica Won't Settle CBT on Excluded Disk

VMware specific discussions

Remote Replica Won't Settle CBT on Excluded Disk

Veeam Logoby cdcv » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:09 pm

Case #01783919

VMware 5.5.0
Veeam 8.0.0.2084
VMware Tools 10.0.0

Case #01783919

VMware 5.5.0
Veeam 8.0.0.2084
VMware Tools 10.0.0

We've got a VM we backup and remotely replicate. The backup and the replica source data directly from the VM. For the remote replica, we exclude selected Disks that are used for dump, temp tables and other things that change frequently and are unnecessary (and expensive) to remotely replicate.

Traditionally, we've resized non-excluded disks with no problems whatsoever. The process is flawless.

Recently we resized an excluded disk and we can't get CBT to resettle. We manually increased the size of the excluded volume on the replica.

When we run the backup the backup resets CBT and rereads the entire VM as expected. If we run two backups in a row, CBT works correctly.

When we run a replica after a backup, the replica knows the disks have been changed, and CBT is reset. The entire VM is reread as expected, but subsequent replicas continue to reset CBT. Any backups that run after a replica runs also reset CBT.

We've tried:
Updating VMware Tools
Manually resetting CBT
Running replicas and backups in varying combinations

I'm not sure why the replica cares about CBT on an excluded volume.

We'd like to solve this without a reseed.

Has anyone seen this before? Is there's something we can do to get this settled short of a reseed?
cdcv
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:11 pm
Full Name: Chris Caldwell

Re: Remote Replica Won't Settle CBT on Excluded Disk

Veeam Logoby DeadEyedJacks » Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:25 pm

If you're saying that you are backing up the replica. You can't do that with CBT enabled.

If you saying the source VM for backup and replicate from backup set needs a CBT reset,
carefully follow the VMware KB article https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micro ... Id=2139574
Microsoft, NetApp, Symantec, Veeam, Veritas and VMware certified professional
MCTS, MCSE, NCDA, NCIE-BR, ASC, SCS, VMTSP, VTS, VCP
DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 85
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: UK
Full Name: DeadEyedJacks

Re: Remote Replica Won't Settle CBT on Excluded Disk

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:59 pm

cdcv wrote:The entire VM is reread as expected, but subsequent replicas continue to reset CBT.

Hi Chris, I remember similar behavior showing up on v8 and being fixed in Update 3 (which you apparently have installed). Will need to re-check with R&D.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14715
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Remote Replica Won't Settle CBT on Excluded Disk

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:56 am

I've confirmed that similar issue was addressed in the mentioned update, however, there could be other reasons for digests re-calculation, please continue investigating with support.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14715
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests