Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

VMware specific discussions

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby deebsr » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:18 pm

Just like to add that I've come across this issue. Why can't you just have an option to right click> remove host from the GUI? Why do I need to contact Veeam tech support to do this simple task?
deebsr
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:10 pm
Location: Vancouver
Full Name: Shaun Deeb

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:24 pm

Unfortunately, nobody ever posted support case ID for this issue in this tread, so I cannot really get more details on this problem to answer your question... most likely, there was not enough support cases opened for this issue to justify fixing it.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby deebsr » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:48 pm

I currently have support case # 00187296 open. Which we are getting things fixed ok. But it would be nice to have the ability to just rightclick > remove host.
Or even better if you run a rescan any hosts that are no longer there will automatically be removed or show up as offline..or something like that.
deebsr
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:10 pm
Location: Vancouver
Full Name: Shaun Deeb

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:27 am

Thanks, let me check with development on this.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:20 am 2 people like this post

Looks like the fix for this is already scheduled for B&R 6.5 Patch 3.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby bbohn » Thu Mar 14, 2013 3:08 am

Hello, I've been using Veeam for a couple years now and it seems the latest versions are getting easier to trip up since it expects your vCenter environment to be perfect.
We have a few 'dead in the water' hosts that are still in our inventory but not connected and it seems these can really trip up adding the vCenter into Veeam. (they are being worked on by different depts, etc)

We really need a way to add & ignore hosts directly in the vCenter listing on the Veeam side. Letting us rescan the storage is a tease since without any control to ignore failed/disconnected hosts the storage scan fails.

Give the user more control please. Hide it in an Advance tab if you must but many of us need it for our ever changing environments.
bbohn
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:53 pm
Full Name: Bill Bohn

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby bbohn » Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:21 pm

I would like to add something that seems odd that was half my issue.
If you put host clusters into a folder, Veeam B & R will not be able to see/discover them. It can find single hosts in folders, but not hosts in clusters.
When I moved them out of the folders, then Veeam B & R was able to discover the hosts that are in clusters.

not sure if that is by design or a bug
bbohn
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:53 pm
Full Name: Bill Bohn

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:03 pm

Bill, could you please specify your exact topology that is not discovered correctly in Veeam B&R and also identify the place in the product GUI? We have a cluster that is contained within the folder in our internal lab and it is displayed correctly in the VMs tree in Veeam B&R.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Thu May 09, 2013 3:24 pm

I am having the same issue, using Veeam 6.5.0.109, ESXi 5.0xx. I have 2 ESXi hosts that won't come out after a rescan.Seems like it should be easier that editing the DB, I'm surprised that VEEAM doesnt have a way to remove a ESXi host through it's GUI. Seems cumbersome.
Pass that onto the software dev team please

thanks
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu May 09, 2013 7:59 pm

Hi Steve, looks like you are simply not running the latest product build. Please install the latest patch: as I mentioned a few posts above, this issue was scheduled to be addressed in Patch #3 for B&R 6.5. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby EddyMandemaker » Wed May 15, 2013 8:04 am 1 person likes this post

this is corrected in patch3 for B&R v6.5.
I had this issue to ...

regards Eddy Mandemaker
EddyMandemaker
Influencer
 
Posts: 13
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:28 am
Full Name: Eddy Mandemaker

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby fmt1962 » Wed May 22, 2013 1:20 am

Wow I cannot believe this.... I love Veeam and this is the first significant and hard to believe problem.

Like many other people, from time to time we have to do a hardware update of our physical hosts..... now I have to open a support case to get instructions to edit the database to remove the old hosts.... this is almost beyond belief.

Come on guys, we do have to upgrade hardware!!! Surely you cannot have overlooked this really!
fmt1962
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:04 am
Full Name: Daryl W

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby fmt1962 » Wed May 22, 2013 6:32 am 2 people like this post

Support was terrific......

I did install patch 3 as requested (and noted this issue is suppposed to be fixed), however it only fixed a few of the hosts, many remained stuck.

However support webexed in and fixed the db issue in a few minutes, top marks for support....

Hopefully this issue is all but fixed, obviously a few little glitches remain.....
fmt1962
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:04 am
Full Name: Daryl W

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby ejudson » Fri May 16, 2014 1:45 am

This worked for me

delete
FROM [VeeamBackup].[dbo].[Hosts]
where name ='name of host'
ejudson
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:43 am
Full Name: Eddie Judson

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Sat Apr 09, 2016 11:53 am

If someone is still struggling this issue with newer versions, first you need to remove jobs, replicas related to that specific host ... then host dissapear - when removed from vcenter.
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 168
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests