Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

VMware specific discussions

Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby hockeyguy59 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:30 pm

Hi All,
I have searched and I cannot seem to find an answer to this one. Or maybe I didn't search hard enough. lol

I am at 6.1.0.205(64bit) and I am running ESX 5. What I am trying to do is remove old ESXi hosts from the Veeam console that were removed from my virtual center cluster. I originally had 7 host and I have since migrated off of three of the hosts and removed them from the VMware virtual center console. I cannot seem to find where to remove them from the Veeam console. If you go to infrastructure, VMware vSphere, vCenter Servers, <my vc server name> on the right it will display all the ESXi hosts. Well.. 3 of those hosts are no longer in Virtual Center but they still show under virtual center in Veeam. I have tried to rescan(that just rescans the storage). I have rebooted the Veeam system. I have also done a search through the registry to see if it may have been stored in the registry but no luck.

Any ideas? I am hoping I don't have to remove the virtual center and re-add it, since i am pretty sure that will destroy the jobs i have created....


thanks for any input!
hockeyguy59
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:15 pm
Full Name: Ed R

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:54 pm

Ed, please contact technical support, they could assist you in editing Veeam B&R database to remove these hosts.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby hockeyguy59 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:10 pm

ok I will contact them in a bit. Thanks Foggy!
hockeyguy59
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:15 pm
Full Name: Ed R

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby lars@norstat.no » Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:22 pm

i have the same problem, can't you just post the solution here so that we can remove the servers ?
lars@norstat.no
Expert
 
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:28 pm

Lars, unfortunately, we do not publish solutions that require Veeam B&R configuration database editing. One reason is database differences between product versions. Please open a case to get the solution, this is very easy indeed.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14752
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby ZachW » Wed Nov 14, 2012 3:39 pm

One of the problems with posting the solution to this on the forums is that the solution is not something that is going to be what I would call a "static" query. Removing the host is going to require the GUID of the host which will have to be removed from two different tables in the SQL DB. When this is the case it is typically best to have support tickets open as it does require some "manual intervention". Once you get a ticket open it should be quite easy to get you squared away!
ZachW
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 68
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Zach Weed

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby lars@norstat.no » Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:15 am

I'm sorry, but in the cases i have done with support the answer has either been that there is a problem with something else than Veeam (Which can be true of course, but then they should have a clue about what can cause it) or i get the answer that this is pretty difficult to investigate at the moment .... Well ... I will of course run this by support aswell. But i don't really understand your policy about keeping things out of the forums. The more that is there the better i would think. Of course there are differences between versions, but we are IT guy's not children and this is backup and replication and not "the most important software we have"
lars@norstat.no
Expert
 
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby lars@norstat.no » Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:20 am

ZachW wrote:One of the problems with posting the solution to this on the forums is that the solution is not something that is going to be what I would call a "static" query. Removing the host is going to require the GUID of the host which will have to be removed from two different tables in the SQL DB. When this is the case it is typically best to have support tickets open as it does require some "manual intervention". Once you get a ticket open it should be quite easy to get you squared away!


Fine, but then i would just put "enter GUID here" or something ... You get the idea.

Well let me ask you something else related then ... i Add/Remove and rename ESXi servers all the time. At the moment i have 29 ESXi hosts. The question is ... Is this the way it's suppose to work ? i have to remove or add servers manually to the database every time i change something ? When i choose rescan the storage i get an error because the servers are not there anymore.

I cant remove the Virtual Center server and re add it because all the replication jobs are tied to that server.
lars@norstat.no
Expert
 
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:41 am

Hello Lars, out of curiosity, could you please give us a bit more details on why you add/remove/rename ESX(i) servers all the time? Just trying to understand how to assist you with this challenge in a more elegant way.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:13 pm

I can give you mine, is hopefully similar to Lars: we run 30 and counting ESXi, and since all of them boot from SD it happens randomly it breaks. No big deal, we have automation tools to redeploy it. Even if it has the same name, the GUID of the server is not the same anymore.
Generally, the more ESXi servers you have, the more likely you will have to rebuild them from time to time. In my case anyway rescan has always worked, but I only added or reinstalled hosts, never removed permanently none of them.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5055
Liked: 1335 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby lars@norstat.no » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:27 pm

What he said .... :-) Just some times you take an old server, rename it at move to a disaster site and then this server has a different name and GUID. I mean this is the basic stuff ... There are several things about your GUI that needs a BIG makeover. But i won't get into that now. Maybe i will make a bigger post about that later. And just to add, the functionality of your software is great and it does some things no one else does, BUT often the functions are hard to use or even find ....

Like i said, updating list of servers etc, or just updating a variable on several jobs at once is the basic stuff and should work out of the box on the sixth version of the product ....
lars@norstat.no
Expert
 
Posts: 109
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:44 pm
Full Name: Lars Skjønberg

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:59 pm

Thanks for clarification guys, much appreciated.
lars@norstat.no wrote:Like i said, updating list of servers etc, or just updating a variable on several jobs at once is the basic stuff and should work out of the box on the sixth version of the product ....

You're absolutely correct! That is why we ask to open support cases on all technical issues, as we need to collect as much statistics as possible to release the fix for the problem. Hope this makes sense.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19570
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

[MERGED] How to delete host from vCenter in Backup Infrastru

Veeam Logoby antivir » Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:43 am

VBR's Backup Infrastructure has vCenter server (with 10 hosts). I deleted one host from vCenter. But there is still vCenter with 10 hosts in Backup Infrastructure. How to delete it?
I try rescan on vCenter name - no matter.
antivir
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 63
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:39 pm
Full Name: Andrew

[MERGED] : How to remove retired ESX hosts from Veeam?

Veeam Logoby jpeake » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:13 pm

If I go to BACKUP INFRASTRUCTURE-->VCENTER SERVERS and click on my vCenter server, it shows 5 hosts. 3 of those have been retired, but there seems to be no way to remove them from Veeam. How can I do this?

When I RESCAN at the vCenter Server level it errors out
1/25/2013 8:19:03 AM Fail Disks and volumes discovery for VMware vCenter 'vcenter04' failed Error: The object has already been deleted or has not been completely created
1/25/2013 8:19:03 AM Fail Session failed Error: The object has already been deleted or has not been completely created
jpeake
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:57 pm

Re: Removing ESXi host from Infrastructure pane

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:27 pm

I’d suggest contacting our support team directly, since VB&R SQL-database correction seems to be necessary.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13291
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], mijn7 and 33 guests