Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
rawtaz
Enthusiast
Posts: 85
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Rename imported backup

Post by rawtaz » Mar 05, 2012 12:39 am

Hi,

I imported a backup just now (the "Import Backup" button), and it was registered in Veeam as TheBackupName_imported.

How can I change the name of it back to TheBackupName?

Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3279 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Rename imported backup

Post by Gostev » Mar 05, 2012 12:53 am

Hi, it is not possible to change a name of imported backups. Why do you even want to keep this backup imported long enough to care about its name? Typically, you only import the backup just before performing a restore, and remove it immediately after. Thanks.

rawtaz
Enthusiast
Posts: 85
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Rename imported backup

Post by rawtaz » Mar 05, 2012 10:30 am

It is because the ESXi host IP was changed (I know we should be running with a hostname instead). From what I could tell, I needed to import the backup in order to be able to restore from it.

Perhaps it's not possible to continue backing up to this imported backup? This was late last night so I haven't gotten to try that yet. If not, then it makes sense that no energy was spent on the ability to rename imported backups.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3279 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Rename imported backup

Post by Gostev » Mar 05, 2012 10:48 am

In v6, it is possible to continue backing up into the existing backup - but you should put the backup into your backup repository and "map" the new job into this backup file, instead of importing the backup. See the adjacent thread about moving to the new repository, talks just about that :D

rawtaz
Enthusiast
Posts: 85
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Rename imported backup

Post by rawtaz » Mar 05, 2012 11:01 am

Gostev, can you tell me whether the Import Backup feature is the right thing to use in the cases where you changed IP of the ESXi host a backup is made from?

I tried restoring from the untouched backup repository before doing Import Backup, but then got the "Host with id 'some long number' was not found" error. Read around a bit and got the impression that Import Backup was the way to go! So I right-clicked the backup, chose Remove, and then imported it again.

I'm reading the other thread, but it's about when you move the actual backups between repositories. In that case one should naturally use Rescan Repository, but according to the user guide the Import Backup is the one to use when you've changed the ESXi host (" .. if you happened to delete the server with which the backup was associated from the management tree .." on page 198). Unless "server" in this quote refers to the bacup repository server of course :)

Just want to make sure I understand when to do what, even though I don't plan on changing the ESXi hosts around in the future :mrgreen:

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17797
Liked: 1491 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Rename imported backup

Post by foggy » Mar 05, 2012 11:39 am

Yes, this is the right thing to use in the cases where you simply need to restore the VMs from the backup but "happened to delete the server with which the backup was associated from the management tree". But if you do not just want to restore and want to continue the backup job also, you'd need to map backup instead.

rawtaz
Enthusiast
Posts: 85
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Jan 27, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Rename imported backup

Post by rawtaz » Mar 05, 2012 12:09 pm

Roger this. Thanks for verifying!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests