Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Post Reply
albertwt
Veteran
Posts: 879
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by albertwt »

Hi All,

I wonder if it is possible to rename the default VMware Backup Proxy into a custom name we choose?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8642
Liked: 2270 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Hi Albert

I checked our powershell commands and internal documentation.
There is no official way to rename the default VMware Proxy.
Even if you remove it and add it again, it keeps it's name.

Why do you want to rename it? Do you need it to have hostname as it's name like the other proxies?

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
albertwt
Veteran
Posts: 879
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by albertwt »

Hi @Mildur,

When the names are the same throughout the domain, the VeeamONE report can appear a little confusing.

Image
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8642
Liked: 2270 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by Mildur »

Hi Albert

Thanks for sharing the screenshot.
Indeed, if you have added multiple VBR instances to a single Veeam One Server, it can be confusing.
I will forward your request. But no promises if and when we can fix this.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Posts: 31513
Liked: 6692 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

@Egor Yakovlev most likely there's no legitimate reason for the renaming of a default proxy is blocked, we should just remove this?
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2537
Liked: 683 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Backup Proxies do not really have an editable "Name" per say, as we name them automatically after hostname of added server that is being used as a proxy.
Thing with the default proxy name is that it is being added via SQL script during installation and directly injected into DB(I think we could change it to hostname, will investigate).
Anyhow, Veeam One says this dashboard is missing VBR server names in general, which should be fixed in the first place, and will remove confusion.

/Thanks!
RomanK
Veeam Software
Posts: 634
Liked: 167 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by RomanK »

Hi all,

From the Veeam ONE monitoring perspective, it is a bit strange to combine multiple properties in a single one and use it everywhere.

I could agree, that in this particular case, it would be clearer to use a hostname instead of VMware Backup Proxy. But not a VMware Backup Proxy (VBR name) or VMware Backup Proxy (hostname). Having such a long string would make widgets unreadable, especially when the first part of this string is not editable and is always the same. In addition, it would force us to use the same consistent naming in all reports and alerts.

There is actually the same behavior with Default Backup Repositories. However, it is easy to rename them. Let's discuss this topic internally.

Thanks.
albertwt
Veteran
Posts: 879
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by albertwt » 2 people like this post

Wow, thank you very much @RomanK, @Gostev and @Egor Yakovlev,

I really appreciate the collaboration in this matter, and I am glad the Veeam team is very quick to response :D

This is why I love Veeam.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
mog54
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 28, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by mog54 » 1 person likes this post

Hello,

I can upvote this too, it would nice to be able to change the name of the default VMware Backup Proxy.

As what i read here, this is not possible easly/officialy, would it be usefull to open a support request to know if it's technicaly possible ?

Thanks
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8642
Liked: 2270 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by Mildur »

Hi Mog54

Your voice is counted.
Support also cannot change it. I recommend to wait for an supported solution.

Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
mog54
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 28, 2018 10:30 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by mog54 »

Hello Mildur,

Ok thanks for the fast reply

Mog54
kirderf
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 28, 2021 1:35 pm
Full Name: Fredrik Kristensen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Renaming the default VMware Backup Proxy into custom name?

Post by kirderf »

I would also like to upvote this.

In addition to the default proxy, I have another example for you. We changed the domain name of our Veeam servers, so the domain part in their FQDN changed. The host field of each proxy updated correctly, but the name field still uses the old domain name.
IT adviser
Data Center Operations
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 57 guests