Replace ancient host with new one

VMware specific discussions

Replace ancient host with new one

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:05 pm

I apologize if this is covered somewhere here already... just point me there if so.

I have a four host vSphere environment (two hosts in a cluster at main site, one host in a cluster at two remote sites). The hosts at the remote sites are ancient and I need to replace the hardware. Though the main cluster is running vSphere 5.5 (and this is also where the Veeam server lives), the remote sites are still on 4.1. I was hoping that I could do the following:

1. Install new vSpher 5.5 host at remote site (can I even put a 5.5 host in the same cluster as a 4.1 host?)
2. Veeam QuickMigrate the three small VMs from the old host to new.
3. Decommission old 4.1 host.

I don't see a need for EVC and all that to do vMotion between old and new since I have so few VMs... just wondering if this is a viable plan or if there's a better way.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: Replace ancient host with new one

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:10 pm

Yes, 4.1 and 5.5 hosts can be in the same cluster (make sure to upgrade vCenter first) and yes, you can use Quick Migration for that kind of migration.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replace ancient host with new one

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:12 pm

Despite vSphere 4.1 and 5.5 can work in the same cluster, it`s considered as best practice to have equally updated hosts in a cluster.
So my suggestion is to to update both hosts.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Replace ancient host with new one

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Thu Oct 15, 2015 4:15 pm

Shestakov- Not sure I understand what you're saying... I'm only having two different-version hosts in the same cluster in order to migrate from the old hardware to new, then the old host goes away and there's only one remaining (new) host in the cluster.

Foggy- Thanks for the sanity check!
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: Replace ancient host with new one

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:31 pm

Thanks for the clarification.
I meant having hosts of different version in the cluster permanently.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests