Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
romwarrior
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 26, 2011 4:42 pm
Full Name: Brett
Contact:

Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by romwarrior »

Case #00698956

I have one replica that is set up to boot to what VMWare labels as Hard Disk 2 (instead of the usual Hard Disk 1). The BIOS for the production VM has a specific order set up for this and works fine. However the replica BIOS has a different order (assuming it's the default order) and thus won't boot unless I manually change the boot order. Even then the change only lasts until the next restore point is updated. This causes my SureReplica job to fail for this VM. Any ideas?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25274
Liked: 2216 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Brett,

Do you have the same VMX files for both replica and source VMs? You can check that via opening this file in notepad app.

Thanks!

romwarrior
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 26, 2011 4:42 pm
Full Name: Brett
Contact:

Re: Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by romwarrior »

The VMX files are not identical, although as far as I can tell neither of them specifies the boot order.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25274
Liked: 2216 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by Vitaliy S. »

After reviewing your ticket I see that our engineer has suggested you to configure disk boot order in the VMX file. Did you have any time to try this solution?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18844
Liked: 1904 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by veremin »

Check this article for more information on how it can be achieved. Thanks.

romwarrior
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 26, 2011 4:42 pm
Full Name: Brett
Contact:

Re: Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by romwarrior » 1 person likes this post

OK, I finally got it to boot by editing the VMX file instead of BIOS. I'll have to wait for another backup -> copy -> replica cycle to complete to see if it sticks. Thanks.

romwarrior
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 5 times
Joined: May 26, 2011 4:42 pm
Full Name: Brett
Contact:

Re: Replica BIOS boot device order changed, won't boot

Post by romwarrior » 2 people like this post

OK, the VMX edits persisted throughout the replication process so all is good here. Thanks for your help, guys.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests