Replica from Backup and Active Full

VMware specific discussions

Replica from Backup and Active Full

Veeam Logoby ohuetz » Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:54 am

Hello,

I use v9 to replicate some VMs to a DR-Site (WAN-Accelerator). Source for all VMs is the last Backup.
Do Active Full Backups or some of the new Backup-Maintenance Tools (defragment, compact) have an influence to the amount of data beeing replicated?
I´d like to avoid replicating the whole data again to the DR-Site.

Thanks in advance

Oliver
ohuetz
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:53 pm
Full Name: Oliver Huetz

Re: Replica from Backup and Active Full

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:02 pm

Oliver, these operations should not affect the amount of transferred data.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14712
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replica from Backup and Active Full

Veeam Logoby ohuetz » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:16 pm

OK, thanks for the quick answer. I hope the "should not affect" means something like "No problem, there won´t be any influences" :wink:
I don´t want to replicate >1TB over my 2 MBit.
ohuetz
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:53 pm
Full Name: Oliver Huetz

Re: Replica from Backup and Active Full

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:27 pm

What I meant was that it was designed to not affect further replication from that backup file and we're not aware of any issues in this area.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14712
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hendrikm, Yahoo [Bot] and 43 guests