Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
itops
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2018 4:14 pm
Full Name: juan cruz
Contact:

Replica suffix

Post by itops » May 03, 2018 4:04 pm

Hi everyone.
We've running a replication job with all production vms of our production site, from a backup server on our DR site. We've two vcenter servers on both sites.
The replication job run with suffix "_replica" and have already registered the replicas on DR site.
Now I need to change de suffix to "" (empty) so the vm names are the same (Primary site = DR Site).

How can i achieve this?

thanks

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1432
Liked: 175 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Replica suffix

Post by jmmarton » May 03, 2018 4:18 pm

I don't see anything in the User Guide stating this isn't supported, and in my lab I was just able to clear out the suffix field in the replication job and save the job without errors.

Joe

itops
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2018 4:14 pm
Full Name: juan cruz
Contact:

Re: Replica suffix

Post by itops » May 03, 2018 4:37 pm

Thanks Joe. It's correct but I need to edit my job that's already running with the suffix "_replica". When I change it to empty suffix it will create new replicas in DR site with the original VM name. Is this correct? What I need is to change the suffix and keep the existing replicas

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17708
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replica suffix

Post by foggy » May 04, 2018 6:04 pm

If you just change the suffix in the job settings, it will be applied to the newly added VMs only. If you change the suffix on existing replica VMs, nothing should happen, I believe, new replica shouldn't be created - you can try with a single VM and see what happens. You can always map the job to existing VM after changing the suffix.

itops
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2018 4:14 pm
Full Name: juan cruz
Contact:

Re: Replica suffix

Post by itops » May 04, 2018 6:34 pm

Ok Thanks Alexander, i'll try it later.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests