Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
opoet7
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2013 4:26 pm
Full Name: Taymaz

Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by opoet7 »

Hi
I have a replication job on my 3 important dc, SharePoint and data protection virtual machines in vSphere 5.1 infrastructure , it work fine but the original and replica virtual machines size is different and in all replica Virtual machines disk size in bigger than original virtual machine disk size.
There is a problem in replication?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17777
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

Hi, Taymaz. I’m wondering whether the source and target VM has the disks of the same type. May I ask to go to the settings of a replication job -> Destination -> Pick Datastore and check there “Disk Type” option? Thanks.

opoet7
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2013 4:26 pm
Full Name: Taymaz

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by opoet7 »

v.Eremin wrote:Hi, Taymaz. I’m wondering whether the source and target VM has the disks of the same type. May I ask to go to the settings of a replication job -> Destination -> Pick Datastore and check there “Disk Type” option? Thanks.
Thanks v.Eremin,
I check Disk Type and test 3 options, in thick option the replica vm’s disk size is equal original vm’s but in two other options the replica vm’s disks in bigger than original vm’s.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

How many restore point snapshots do you have on the replica VMs? What is their size?

Bunce
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Full Name: Andrew
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by Bunce » 1 person likes this post

Are you comparing actual VMDK size, or total size of all VMDK's against the VM?

If the latter, are you using any disk exclusions in your job? The exclusion settings didn't come across after our upgrade on our replication jobs.

opoet7
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2013 4:26 pm
Full Name: Taymaz

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by opoet7 »

Vitaliy S. wrote:How many restore point snapshots do you have on the replica VMs? What is their size?
Thanks
One of the virtual machines has 3 restore point with 5 GB size.

opoet7
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2013 4:26 pm
Full Name: Taymaz

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by opoet7 »

Bunce wrote:Are you comparing actual VMDK size, or total size of all VMDK's against the VM?

If the latter, are you using any disk exclusions in your job? The exclusion settings didn't come across after our upgrade on our replication jobs.
I check and compare original and replica virtual machines in all of replica virtual machines, Provisioned Storage is equal original virtual machines Provisioned Storage plus Used Storage plus Memory size.

One sample virtual machine
Original virtual machine specification:
Provisioned Storage: 100 GB
Not-Shared Storage: 17.30 GB
Used Storage: 17.30 GB
Storage used inside windows: 15.2 GB
VM.vmdk size on Storage: 13.19 GB
VM.vmdk disk provisioned size on Storage: 100 GB

Replica virtual machine specification:
Provisioned Storage: 120.91 GB
Not-Shared Storage: 16.60 GB
Used Storage: 16.60 GB GB
VM.vmdk size on Storage: 12.52 GB
VM.vmdk disk provisioned size on Storage: 100 GB
VM-000001.vmdk size on Storage: 1.0 MB
VM-000001.vmdk disk provisioned size on Storage: 100 GB
VM-000002.vmdk size on Storage: 2.50 GB
VM-000002.vmdk disk provisioned size on Storage: 100 GB
VM-000003.vmdk size on Storage: 1.58 GB
VM-000003.vmdk disk provisioned size on Storage: 100 GB

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24075
Liked: 1807 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

Taymaz,

When replicating thin disks I believe it is expected to see the increased provisioned space every replication job pass, as each restore point is stored in the snapshot file. You can check it yourself by running another incremental job pass, this should increase the provisioned space of your target VMs.

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17777
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

I believe that, this situation can be simulated even without presence of Veeam Backup and Replication – just take a snapshot of running thin-provisioned VM and see the difference between previous and current numbers. Thanks.

opoet7
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 15, 2013 4:26 pm
Full Name: Taymaz

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by opoet7 »

Thanks,
I realized my mistake

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17777
Liked: 1625 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Replica VM Size in bigger than orginal VM

Post by veremin »

Glad to hear that this situation is finally clarified. Should any additional help be needed, don’t hesitate to let us know.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: markg and 40 guests