Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

VMware specific discussions

Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby frankive » Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:38 pm

Hi.
Is it supported to replicate from an older sphere installation and to a hyper-v 2012 r2 server?
Any limitations we should know about?
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 720
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:40 pm

It's not possible to use replication from vSphere to Hyper-V with Veeam.

You could use some V2V tools for this type of migrations like 5nine V2V Easy Converter: http://www.5nine.com/vmware-hyper-v-v2v ... -free.aspx
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1520
Liked: 328 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:44 pm

You can also use Veeam Endpoint Backup for this purpose.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14765
Liked: 1083 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby frankive » Thu Apr 14, 2016 5:01 pm

I actually think I have good experience with star wind V2V Free solution form old vmware to hyper-v too.

Was just checking out if Veeam was hypervisor agnostic regarding the migration part but when I think about it it would not make much sense regarding both the virtual drive types, integration services etc.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 720
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:21 am

Nope, we do not support cross-platform migration/replication, so, usage of 3-party tools (or workarounds) is required here. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 974 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby Net Runner » Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:12 am

StarWind V2V Converter is exactly what you need here. Did the job for me many times without any issues.
You can get it here: https://www.starwindsoftware.com/converter
Net Runner
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Veeam Logoby frankive » Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:03 pm

yes, I have also good experience with star wind for this purpose.
frankive
Service Provider
 
Posts: 720
Liked: 86 times
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Norway
Full Name: Frank Iversen


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests