Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by frankive » Apr 14, 2016 4:38 pm

Hi.
Is it supported to replicate from an older sphere installation and to a hyper-v 2012 r2 server?
Any limitations we should know about?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2710
Liked: 566 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 14, 2016 4:40 pm

It's not possible to use replication from vSphere to Hyper-V with Veeam.

You could use some V2V tools for this type of migrations like 5nine V2V Easy Converter: http://www.5nine.com/vmware-hyper-v-v2v ... -free.aspx
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18396
Liked: 1581 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by foggy » Apr 14, 2016 4:44 pm

You can also use Veeam Endpoint Backup for this purpose.

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by frankive » Apr 14, 2016 5:01 pm

I actually think I have good experience with star wind V2V Free solution form old vmware to hyper-v too.

Was just checking out if Veeam was hypervisor agnostic regarding the migration part but when I think about it it would not make much sense regarding both the virtual drive types, integration services etc.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17022
Liked: 1462 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by veremin » Apr 15, 2016 8:21 am

Nope, we do not support cross-platform migration/replication, so, usage of 3-party tools (or workarounds) is required here. Thanks.

Net Runner
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 19, 2016 5:07 am
Contact:

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by Net Runner » Apr 19, 2016 5:12 am

StarWind V2V Converter is exactly what you need here. Did the job for me many times without any issues.
You can get it here: https://www.starwindsoftware.com/converter

frankive
Service Provider
Posts: 889
Liked: 104 times
Joined: May 14, 2013 8:35 pm
Full Name: Frank Iversen
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Replicate from sphere to hyper-v

Post by frankive » Apr 19, 2016 4:03 pm

yes, I have also good experience with star wind for this purpose.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests