Replicating HW10 to HW9

VMware specific discussions

Replicating HW10 to HW9

Veeam Logoby Jim Mc » Tue May 19, 2015 12:51 pm

Hi there,

I'm having trouble replicating some virtual machines which are HW version 10, because the destination platform is vSphere 5.1 and only supports HW version 9.

Is there any way I could use a script to convert the VM during the replication? Even if unsupported? As I understand it's possible to downgrade from HW10 to HW9 by modifying a line in the VNX file?

Many thanks,


Jim
Jim Mc
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:49 am
Full Name: James McGuire

Re: Replicating HW10 to HW9

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 19, 2015 1:43 pm

Hi Jim,

You can use one of the suggested links below to do that, as for downgrading hardware version on the fly I'm not sure there is a trivial way to achieve that:
http://www.vladan.fr/three-ways-downgra ... e-version/
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=1028019

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replicating HW10 to HW9

Veeam Logoby Jim Mc » Tue May 19, 2015 2:08 pm

Hi thanks for that but I don't want to downgrade the virtual machine on the source VM, I only wish to do this dynamically on the destination.

Unfortunately Veeam 8 complains that it is unable to replicate the VM due to the hardware version, so I need some method of converting the VNX when it is replicated to the destination vSphere.

The only feature difference between HW10 and HW9 seems to be a SATA controller and the customer is not using that, but does not wish to have downtime associated with downgrading the source VM. Also unfortunately the destination vsphere cannot be upgraded at this present time. So I was hoping a dynamic conversion would be a possibility?

Perhaps this could be possible through some sort of ignore compatability/force replication option followed by a post replication script to downgrade the HW version?

Many thanks,

James
Jim Mc
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:49 am
Full Name: James McGuire

Re: Replicating HW10 to HW9

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 19, 2015 3:33 pm

Jim Mc wrote:Perhaps this could be possible through some sort of ignore compatability/force replication option followed by a post replication script to downgrade the HW version?

This could be an option, though the VM would not start without this downgrade.

What you could do as a workaround is to use either VM copy job or file copy job, second should definitely allow you to transfer files to the destination host and then adjust the hardware config to be compatible with HW9.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests