Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
karlochacon
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 21, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Carlos Chacon
Contact:

Replication and replica

Post by karlochacon »

hi

I replicated some VMs since they were pretty big I replciated them first locally and after that move the ESXi Server to the recocovery site.
so my first real replication job across sites I enable Low connection Bandwith (enable replica seeding)

OK my question is should I leave this option enable forever every time I run this replication job, let's say Saturdays midnight? or I have to disable it


thanks a lot

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25369
Liked: 2241 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication and replica

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Carlos,

Yes, once you have run at least one successful incremental job pass, you can disable this checkbox. This shouldn't have any impact on your replication job.

Thanks!

karlochacon
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 21, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Carlos Chacon
Contact:

Re: Replication and replica

Post by karlochacon »

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Carlos,

Yes, once you have run at least one successful incremental job pass, you can disable this checkbox. This shouldn't have any impact on your replication job.

Thanks!

so the job will automatically detect the replica is there without selecting the option

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25369
Liked: 2241 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication and replica

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, if you've already performed replica mapping, then the subsequent replication job runs will use this to detect the target VM.

karlochacon
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 21, 2012 5:43 pm
Full Name: Carlos Chacon
Contact:

Re: Replication and replica

Post by karlochacon »

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, if you've already performed replica mapping, then the subsequent replication job runs will use this to detect the target VM.

so I am confused is it needed or not to leave "Low connection Bandwith (enable replica seeding)" forever in the job?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20527
Liked: 1971 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication and replica

Post by foggy »

As Vitaliy had already mentioned, you can disable the check box after the first successful job run. No need to keep it enabled after you've initially mapped the job to the existing replica.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests