Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Berniebgf
Service Provider
Posts: 94
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2010 11:36 pm
Full Name: Bernard Tyers
Contact:

Replication Destination Change

Post by Berniebgf » Nov 20, 2013 7:34 am

Hi All,

Just wondering if I will need to perform "replica mapping" for the following situation

1. Existing Replication Jobs (running and healthy) with Destination set againt ESXi host (directly)
2. Want to change Destination of the existing jobs from the ESXi host to the VirtualCentre server instead so we can leverage ANY of the hosts within the cluster.

Is "replica mapping" required? or will Veeam simply pickup the same replica VM's and continue?

I obviously can not afford to do a full copy again.

thanks

Bernard

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18458
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication Destination Change

Post by foggy » Nov 20, 2013 9:10 am

Bernard, you would need to map replication job to the existing VMs as in case where the job is targeted to a standalone ESXi host, Veeam B&R picks up VM IDs from the host's own database, not vCenter database.

Berniebgf
Service Provider
Posts: 94
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2010 11:36 pm
Full Name: Bernard Tyers
Contact:

Re: Replication Destination Change

Post by Berniebgf » Nov 20, 2013 9:28 am

Thankyou

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], evilaedmin, Google [Bot] and 17 guests