Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
iosman987
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2020 11:19 am
Full Name: ios man
Contact:

Replication fails to a remote proxy ?.

Post by iosman987 »

Hello,

I have a VBR6 server that needs to replicate to a remote site over a VPN that uses NAT because of duplicate IP addresses at each site.I can reach the vCenter server at the site and replication works if I use defaults for the data transfer settings the replication will be successful. The transfer runs at 4MB/s max and the bottleneck shows up as the target. If I select a VM for the proxy at the remote site to use hot add to write to the SAN, the job fails. I have a support ticket open 5162972. The job log looks like the proxy is trying to connect to the local IP address of the VBR server instead of through NAT. I get the same errors when I try to configure a repository at the remote site. Any suggestions?


thanks
alexsunny

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1169
Liked: 506 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication fails to a remote proxy ?.

Post by Mildur »

I‘m pretty sure, that with Veeam, NAT is not supported. Veeam components will always have to connect to the local ip Adress of your servers.

You have to install a vpn connection between the two sites, if you want to use replication.

Another supported configuration is Veeam Cloud Connect Replication. For that, you have to be a service provider or get in contact with your veeam sales contacs to apply for Veeam Cloud Connect Enterprise licenses. Replication is done over Cloud Connect Gateways without the need of a vpn.

https://www.veeam.com/de/cloud-connect- ... ackup.html

I recommend the vpn solution.
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1169
Liked: 506 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication fails to a remote proxy ?.

Post by Mildur »

I have done some research and found another possible solution. NAT for veeam components is supported. Only veeam Agent isn‘t possible over NAT :)
Have you tried this option?

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=100
If the Microsoft Windows server is deployed outside NAT, in the Preferred TCP connection role section select the Run server on this side check box. In the NAT scenario, the outside client cannot initiate a connection to the server on the NAT network. As a result, services that require initiation of the connection from outside can be disrupted. With this option selected, you will be able to overcome this limitation and initiate a ‘server-client’ connection — that is, a connection in the direction of the Microsoft Windows server.
VMCE 9 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20326
Liked: 1919 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Replication fails to a remote proxy ?.

Post by foggy »

Right, that option should do the trick.

iosman987
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2020 11:19 am
Full Name: ios man
Contact:

Re: Replication fails to a remote proxy ?.

Post by iosman987 »

thanks my issue has been fixed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: veremin and 25 guests