Replication Failure

VMware specific discussions

Replication Failure

Veeam Logoby rogerdu » Fri May 06, 2016 1:51 pm

So... Replication is all good... until one of my colleagues puts in a new AD server 2 days ago and promotes it to the functional PDC (we are transitioning from 2008 to 2012). This is the only change I know of in the environment... The Datastore where the target is located is not full, and I'm unaware of any changes made to the vSphere environment.

The replication job is replicating our Exchange server from our production to our test clusters using the latest backup as our source. The error I'm getting is:
- Discovering replica VM Error: Found replica VM vm-6562 with connection state invalid. Cannot proceed further
- Error: Found replica VM vm-6562 with connection state invalid. Cannot proceed further.

I searched the etherwebs and found nothing even similar. As this is a test of replication, I COULD just blow the whole thing away and start all over again, but I'd like to find out what happened.

Suggestions?

Roger
rogerdu
Expert
 
Posts: 108
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour

Re: Replication Failure

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 06, 2016 1:54 pm

Roger, it's always recommended to contact support with this kind of technical issues, since logs analysis is required. Btw, have you tried to rescan the target vCenter server in Veeam B&R console?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Replication Failure

Veeam Logoby rogerdu » Fri May 06, 2016 1:57 pm

I have not, but I am doing so now...
rogerdu
Expert
 
Posts: 108
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour

Re: Replication Failure

Veeam Logoby rogerdu » Fri May 06, 2016 2:36 pm

I could do nothing with the target VM. All the appropriate files were in the datastore directory, but the vCenter system didn't recognize that it was a VM. My only recourse was to remove it from disk through the datastore view (I couldn't do anything in the vCentre menu... no remove from inventory, delete from disk or view properties etc.)

As this was to allow myself to become familiar with replication and the set-up thereof, its not a big deal. I deleted the replica from disk through the datastore view and am in the process of re-establishing the relationship again.

Thanks for the suggestion.
rogerdu
Expert
 
Posts: 108
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Roger Dufour

Re: Replication Failure

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 06, 2016 2:38 pm

Feel free to contact technical support in case you see similar behavior again.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DonZoomik, Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests