Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
dkeathii
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2009 3:46 pm
Full Name: daniel
Contact:

Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by dkeathii »

I just upgraded to VBR 5.0 and noticed it will not allow me to set a number greater than 14 for the number of restore points in a replication job. Is this the intended behavior or do I need to open a support case? We would like to keep many more than 14 restore points :)

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5689
Liked: 2509 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by tsightler »

I have no problem setting the restore points for replication jobs to much higher than 14 in my VBR 5.0.1 install. Sounds like a call to support would be in order.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by Gostev »

That would be the case with ESXi replication target, due to limited amount of remote API connections that can be established, and in short each rollback requires extra connection during failover, so we did introduce this artificial limitation. This is not particularly new to v5, this limitation has always been in place for ESXi target. Thanks!

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5689
Liked: 2509 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by tsightler »

I didn't know that ESXi had the limit as we only replicate to full ESX targets.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by Gostev »

Good idea to stick with full ESX targets until the next Veeam Backup release.

dkeathii
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: May 07, 2009 3:46 pm
Full Name: daniel
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by dkeathii »

Ahh, that's why.

Along with the upgrade, I changed the target to an ESXi box trying to get away with not buying another license...before I realized they made you block ESXi Free...now it's in eval mode while I wait on my license to come in.

I take it >14 restore points on ESXi are planned in a future version, to go along with VMWare's planned phasing out of ESX full?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26905
Liked: 4366 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by Gostev »

Yes.

RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

I can`t set up more then 14 restore point in replication job

Post by RumataRus »

[merged]

I can`t set up more then 14 restore point in a replication job. Why?

RumataRus
Enthusiast
Posts: 78
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 21, 2010 5:30 am
Full Name: Dmitry Prokudin

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by RumataRus »

Gostev wrote:Good idea to stick with full ESX targets until the next Veeam Backup release.
VMware will say "good-bye" to ESX shortly.
Will this limitation be removed? When?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24346
Liked: 1893 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Replication limited to 14 restore points?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

This limit will be increased in the next major release of the product.

Titanmike
Enthusiast
Posts: 65
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 16, 2010 1:52 pm
Full Name: ZeGerman
Contact:

Replication (Local Storage <> Local Storage) Restorepoints ?

Post by Titanmike »

[merged]

Is the maximum restore point setting really "14" ?

I can't seem to increase it ...

sdbmikho
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 23, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Mikael Holmstedt
Contact:

Question regarding number of restore points for replica

Post by sdbmikho »

[merged]

Hello,

I have made some installations of Backup & Replication by now and a strange behaviour showed up the other day....
On the latest installation I could set a maximum of 14 restorepoints for a replica but on a previous installation I could set a higher value.

I made a notice that the previous installation where I couold set a higher value the destination host was ESX and in this new installation the destination host was a ESXi....
Is this a limit because of the ESXi ?


Thank you in advance

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests