Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mikaelkj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 26, 2011 5:31 pm
Full Name: Mikael Korsgaard

Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by mikaelkj »

So I've been testing V6 in a rather simple environment.

I've got a Veeam server that can see the vCenter and ESXi 4.1 servers, everything is working from this server. Then I have a Windows Repository with Veeam Transport installed on a remote machine, there's full access between the Veeam server and this Windows server, but the remote repository cannot see the vCenter and ESXi's... But shouldn't this setup be allowed through the whole proxy "plan".. Shouldn't it be the proxy on the Veeam server that's doing the "talking" with the ESX environment...?

ESXi/vCenter ===== Veeam server/proxy =====(vpn)===== Windows Repository

mikaelkj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 26, 2011 5:31 pm
Full Name: Mikael Korsgaard

Re: Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by mikaelkj »

Btw. in the log I can see the repository server is acually trying to connect to the ESXi servers and of course this fails... :cry:

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by Gostev »

Hi Mikael, actually the backup repository does not have any code to talk with the VMware infrastructure, so it does not need to "see" ESXi either. Backup repositories only talks with backup proxies. I am not sure what you are observing, but most likely you are not reading the network traces correctly. Thanks.

mikaelkj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 26, 2011 5:31 pm
Full Name: Mikael Korsgaard

Re: Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by mikaelkj »

Hi Gostev, and thanks for you reply!

We'll of course I'm not sure that I'm reading it incorrectly. But one thing I know is that if I open the VPN to allow access to the ESXi's it works... But if there's only access to the Veeam i just hangs, end then an error comes after a while.

Best regards,
Mikael

mikaelkj
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 26, 2011 5:31 pm
Full Name: Mikael Korsgaard

Re: Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by mikaelkj »

And sorry for posting log snippets :-) I can create a support case instead if you like, just used the forums since it wasn't that high priority...

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24256
Liked: 1863 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Mikael, yes, it would be better if you could contact our support team and update this topic once you have your issue resolved.

I have removed log snippets from your post.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26700
Liked: 4276 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Repository access to VMware servers...

Post by Gostev »

mikaelkj wrote:if I open the VPN to allow access to the ESXi's it works
Do you possibly have your source backup proxy in a VM running on that ESXi host?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests