Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jadams159
Service Provider
Posts: 80
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 16, 2012 11:44 am
Full Name: Justin Adams
Location: United States
Contact:

Restore button grayed out.

Post by jadams159 » Apr 01, 2015 7:38 pm

When performing a windows OS File Level restore operation, what would cause the "Restore" button to be grayed out?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17718
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore button grayed out.

Post by foggy » Apr 01, 2015 8:22 pm

Most likely, Veeam B&R cannot locate the original VM for some reason. Is it up and running, has VMware Tools up-to-date and running and hasn't changed its moref ID since the backup was taken? If all answers are "yes", I would recommend to contact support for a closer look.

jadams159
Service Provider
Posts: 80
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Apr 16, 2012 11:44 am
Full Name: Justin Adams
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Restore button grayed out.

Post by jadams159 » Apr 02, 2015 10:03 pm 1 person likes this post

Sorry for the late reply, I wasn't subscribed to my own post, so I didn't see the reply.

This problem was caused by the C drive not being part of the backup. This scenario is clearly stated in Veeam documentation, but at the time I didn't realize the C drive was omitted by the client.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17718
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Restore button grayed out.

Post by foggy » Apr 02, 2015 11:06 pm

Yep, in case of system drive was not backed up as a part of the job, restore to original location is not available.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests