restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

VMware specific discussions

restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby ariamovie » Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:03 am

hi
i want to restore backup from vcenter that doesn't exist anymore but backup file is exist and nothing wrong whit it
and all of vm are now in new vcenter server
veeam gives me error
ariamovie
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:54 am
Full Name: Farhad

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:11 am

Hi,

Could you provide the error text please? Just to clarify - do you want to restore a VM from the old backup to the new vCenter?
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Oct 19, 2016 10:09 am

It shouldn't matter whether you're restoring to an old or new vCenter. Unless you select to restore to original location, which doesn't exist anymore.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby ariamovie » Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:37 pm

PTide wrote:Hi,

Could you provide the error text please? Just to clarify - do you want to restore a VM from the old backup to the new vCenter?



Yea exactly
ariamovie
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:54 am
Full Name: Farhad

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby ariamovie » Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:39 pm

foggy wrote:It shouldn't matter whether you're restoring to an old or new vCenter. Unless you select to restore to original location, which doesn't exist anymore.


No i want to restore in new server
ariamovie
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:54 am
Full Name: Farhad

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby PTide » Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:06 pm

So what error do you get?
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby ariamovie » Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:18 pm

Image
ariamovie
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:54 am
Full Name: Farhad

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby PTide » Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:00 am

There are many reasons for such error to appear, for a deeper investigation please contact the support team so they can review the logs. Please post your case ID here once you do.

Thank you
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3019
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Oct 20, 2016 11:59 am

Just out of curiosity - do you get the same error if you try to expand the very same host in "Virtual Machines" node? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Oct 20, 2016 12:04 pm

So it is not a backup/restore issue, it is a vCenter server connection issue, so this is what should be troubleshot.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: restore vm from vcenter doesn't exist

Veeam Logoby dellock6 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:56 am

Did you register (in the Veeam console) the new host where you want to restore the VM? If it's the same host that was previously managed by vcenter, try to register it by ip and not by dns name.
Luca Dell'Oca
EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
http://www.virtualtothecore.com
vExpert 2011-2012-2013-2014-2015-2016
Veeam VMCE #1
dellock6
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5047
Liked: 1330 times
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Location: Varese, Italy
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests